Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,597 Members 51,386 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Storage issues

Tip us?
 
brahmaboba
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default [Q] Storage issues

Nexus 4, rooted, CM, gravity box.

I want to update to CM11 M6 but I can't get my phone to make a nandroid (using ClockworkMod) because I keep getting an error basically saying I have insufficient storage. These are the steps I take:
  • Backup using titanium
  • Go into recovery
  • Backup using ClockworkMod

It's at this point where it lists backing up the system, but then it gets hung up backing up the data card. I have tried to go back in and delete everything I could possibly think of (w/out wiping the whole thing) but to no avail. I have cleared my cashe and even deleted the titanium backup which was around 1gb and still no dice.

Attached are some screenshots that may be helpful. There has to be something hidden but I just don't know where to look for it. I tried to install DiskUsage but I can't since I don't have enough room. How do I clear up this phone?! Any help would be much appreciated!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-14-08-31-55.png
Views:	26
Size:	128.9 KB
ID:	2743357

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-14-08-32-58.png
Views:	20
Size:	152.0 KB
ID:	2743358

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-14-08-36-07.png
Views:	21
Size:	163.7 KB
ID:	2743359
 
parkourz
Old
#2  
parkourz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 886
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Łódź
Quote:
Originally Posted by brahmaboba View Post
Nexus 4, rooted, CM, gravity box.

I want to update to CM11 M6 but I can't get my phone to make a nandroid (using ClockworkMod) because I keep getting an error basically saying I have insufficient storage. These are the steps I take:
  • Backup using titanium
  • Go into recovery
  • Backup using ClockworkMod

It's at this point where it lists backing up the system, but then it gets hung up backing up the data card. I have tried to go back in and delete everything I could possibly think of (w/out wiping the whole thing) but to no avail. I have cleared my cashe and even deleted the titanium backup which was around 1gb and still no dice.

Attached are some screenshots that may be helpful. There has to be something hidden but I just don't know where to look for it. I tried to install DiskUsage but I can't since I don't have enough room. How do I clear up this phone?! Any help would be much appreciated!!

Attachment 2743357

Attachment 2743358

Attachment 2743359
You need at least 3GB of free space to make CWM able to create backup... but you won't find that backup in /sdcard/cloclworkmod folder it's in /storage/emulated/blablabla or something like that and you won't be able to get access there from your computer
HIT IF I HELPED
BUT
I'M NOT HELPING BY PMS!!! If you are going to PM me with your problems, remember: YOU'LL BE IGNORED!!!
Proud user of
Running
SE K610i->SE W200i->SE C510i->SE Xperia X8->HTC One V->LG Nexus 4
 
brahmaboba
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by parkourz View Post
You need at least 3GB of free space to make CWM able to create backup... but you won't find that backup in /sdcard/cloclworkmod folder it's in /storage/emulated/blablabla or something like that and you won't be able to get access there from your computer
Ok, I'm not sure I understand. I'm in the emulated folder and went into the clockworkmod folder and keep descending and come to just 1 file that is just 7.63mb called "recovery-clockwork-....img". This can't be the solution, can it?
 
parkourz
Old
#4  
parkourz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 886
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Łódź
try in /storage/emulated/legacy/clockworkmod... or flash TWRP instead of CWM... if both won't help then you can try to make a backup with toolkit for PC, for example Wug's toolkit
HIT IF I HELPED
BUT
I'M NOT HELPING BY PMS!!! If you are going to PM me with your problems, remember: YOU'LL BE IGNORED!!!
Proud user of
Running
SE K610i->SE W200i->SE C510i->SE Xperia X8->HTC One V->LG Nexus 4
 
wulsic
Old
#5  
wulsic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 703
Posts: 936
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nijmegen
Twrp is showing the backup size and a poseibility to compress it. You probably have much apps or there is some .something fokder what is using much or much cache just like on an desktop. Many things can cause it.
You may want to checkout what is using so much by deleting old folders from old apps or old things yiu dint use anymore.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 4 met Tapatalk
Devices History
Htc Elf-Htc Google Nexus One-LG Optimus 2X-Samsung Galaxy S2-LG Nexus4

"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
"The greatest ideas are the simplest." – William Golding
"Simplicity is the art of maximizing the amount of work not done." - Agile Manifesto
"Simplicity is the way a human/developer should think to easily solve problems." - Wulsic

My Work So far
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes