5,597,397 Members 30,790 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Straight Talk ATT 4g LTE?

Tip us?
 
KerryWood34
Old
#1  
KerryWood34's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 248
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Straight Talk ATT 4g LTE?

Hello everyone,

I did a search in the q&a forums and didn't find anything about this. Is it possible for me to get 4g lte using an att sim card through straight talk? Just today 4g was activated in my area and it would be great to use that instead of my crappy internet connection which is like 3mb download. I know i would need to use either an older radio or a hybrid one for the nexus 4 to have lte functionality, but would it work on straight talk att?

Thank you for your help,
KerryWood34

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
Nexus 5
ROM: OMNI ROM Nightly

Nexus 7 (2013)
ROM: Stock 4.4
Kernel: Stock 4.4 Kernel
 
jjchdc
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 53
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kansas City
I don't know about about LTE on AT&T but if you go into Settings-More-Mobile Networks and enable Data Roaming then go to Access Point Names and hit Menu then reset to default you should see a slight increase in a good coverage area. I went from averaging 3 Mbps to 6 Mbps.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to jjchdc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SpookyTunes
Old
#3  
SpookyTunes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 261
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York City
Quote:
Originally Posted by KerryWood34 View Post
Hello everyone,

I did a search in the q&a forums and didn't find anything about this. Is it possible for me to get 4g lte using an att sim card through straight talk? Just today 4g was activated in my area and it would be great to use that instead of my crappy internet connection which is like 3mb download. I know i would need to use either an older radio or a hybrid one for the nexus 4 to have lte functionality, but would it work on straight talk att?

Thank you for your help,
KerryWood34

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

1) Straight Talk has no LTE, AIO (owned by AT&T and available in limited markets) is the only MVNO with LTE. Otherwise you need Go Phone (AT&T prepaid).
2) It only connects to LTE on 1700 MHz Band 4. Most of AT&T uses 700 MHz Band 17, but there are some Band 4 areas (Puerto Rico and Oklahoma City have been reported).

Best advice is to check if T-Mobile has good coverage in your area (I average 15 Mbps down just on HSPA+), and all of T-Mobile's LTE is on Band 4.
The Following User Says Thank You to SpookyTunes For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KerryWood34
Old
(Last edited by KerryWood34; 31st July 2013 at 05:35 AM.)
#4  
KerryWood34's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 248
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjchdc View Post
I don't know about about LTE on AT&T but if you go into Settings-More-Mobile Networks and enable Data Roaming then go to Access Point Names and hit Menu then reset to default you should see a slight increase in a good coverage area. I went from averaging 3 Mbps to 6 Mbps.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
I meant my actual internet connection lol. I have centurylink in the middle of nowhere and their highest speed
is 6mb, but im lucky if i get 4mb. Having 4g would be a godsend because i could use a wireless hotspot for everything.




Quote:
Originally Posted by SpookyTunes View Post
1) Straight Talk has no LTE, AIO (owned by AT&T and available in limited markets) is the only MVNO with LTE. Otherwise you need Go Phone (AT&T prepaid).
2) It only connects to LTE on 1700 MHz Band 4. Most of AT&T uses 700 MHz Band 17, but there are some Band 4 areas (Puerto Rico and Oklahoma City have been reported).

Best advice is to check if T-Mobile has good coverage in your area (I average 15 Mbps down just on HSPA+), and all of T-Mobile's LTE is on Band 4.
Unfortunately I dont think i get t-mobile coverage where I am. Only ATT. So there's no hope then huh?

Side note, I am half Puerto Rican and half Mexican. You just made me miss my island lol.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
Nexus 5
ROM: OMNI ROM Nightly

Nexus 7 (2013)
ROM: Stock 4.4
Kernel: Stock 4.4 Kernel
 
pjc123
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 223
Join Date: Feb 2013
I would beg for 3Mbps download on my Nexus4 on Straight Talk AT&T. The highest speed I every got was 1.06 Mbps.
 
kzoodroid
Old
#6  
kzoodroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 256
Posts: 1,325
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kalamazoo
If you live out in the middle of nowhere then you won't be getting LTE form any carrier any time soon. Best you will get is HSPA+ from AT&T. Also Chicago is another area where AT&T is using band 4 as they don't have enough band 17 coverage in that area to serve it properly.
Moto X GSM Dev. Ed.- Stock 4.4; Nexus 4 - Stock 4.4, Rooted; Galaxy Tab 7 Plus - Stock 4.2
 
KerryWood34
Old
#7  
KerryWood34's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 248
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzoodroid View Post
If you live out in the middle of nowhere then you won't be getting LTE form any carrier any time soon. Best you will get is HSPA+ from AT&T. Also Chicago is another area where AT&T is using band 4 as they don't have enough band 17 coverage in that area to serve it properly.
I know there is 4g in my area now. Other phones in the house are getting 4g. I was just hoping there was some hope for my wife and I to be able to get 4g as well through ATT. How would i test which band my area is using and assuming I were able to get 4g what would be the steps to getting it on my nexus 4?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
Nexus 5
ROM: OMNI ROM Nightly

Nexus 7 (2013)
ROM: Stock 4.4
Kernel: Stock 4.4 Kernel
 
b a b a l o o
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default straighttalk lte in Hawaii

Quote:
Originally Posted by KerryWood34 View Post
I know there is 4g in my area now. Other phones in the house are getting 4g. I was just hoping there was some hope for my wife and I to be able to get 4g as well through ATT. How would i test which band my area is using and assuming I were able to get 4g what would be the steps to getting it on my nexus 4?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
Just noticed LTE on my wife's HTC One on straighttalk using an AT&T mvno here in Hawaii.
I only did one speed test 7mbs up and down. Pleasantly surprised.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes