5,595,196 Members 45,208 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Change Dns Kitkat 4.4

Tip us?
 
fatii
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 43
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: istanbul
Question [Q] Change Dns Kitkat 4.4

How can i change Dns on Kitkat 4.4
 
CSX321
Old
#2  
CSX321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 118
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern IL USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatii View Post
How can i change Dns on Kitkat 4.4
Should be the same as always.
  • Touch and hold on the network you want to change
  • Choose Modify network
  • Check Show advanced options
  • Change the DNS settings
The Following User Says Thank You to CSX321 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fatii
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 43
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: istanbul
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSX321 View Post
Should be the same as always.
  • Touch and hold on the network you want to change
  • Choose Modify network
  • Check Show advanced options
  • Change the DNS settings
Touch and hold on network... Where is it?
 
CSX321
Old
#4  
CSX321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 118
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern IL USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatii View Post
Touch and hold on network... Where is it?
Settings / Wi-Fi
The Following User Says Thank You to CSX321 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fatii
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 43
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: istanbul
Thanks. What about Mobile ?
 
CSX321
Old
#6  
CSX321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 118
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern IL USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatii View Post
Thanks. What about Mobile ?
Hmm...not sure. There doesn't seem to be an easy way to do it on 4.3 and above. Not that I've found so far, anyway. One kind of roundabout way might be to make a VPN connection, and then specify the DNS settings for the VPN connection? Not sure about that, but it seems like it might work.
The Following User Says Thank You to CSX321 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
eksasol
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 665
Posts: 2,656
Join Date: Nov 2009
If you have root, use DNS Changer: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...pcz.dnschanger
One of the Android app I can't live without.
 
CSX321
Old
#8  
CSX321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 118
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern IL USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eksasol View Post
If you have root, use DNS Changer: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...pcz.dnschanger
One of the Android app I can't live without.
Does it work? Reviewers say it doesn't work with Android 4.3 (and we can assume 4.4).
The Following User Says Thank You to CSX321 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
eksasol
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 665
Posts: 2,656
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSX321 View Post
Does it work? Reviewers say it doesn't work with Android 4.3 (and we can assume 4.4).
Why would I recommend it if it doesn't work?
 
CSX321
Old
#10  
CSX321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 118
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern IL USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by eksasol View Post
Why would I recommend it if it doesn't work?
I didn't know if you have 4.3+. I asked, because as recently as 4 days ago, reviewers of the app said it doesn't work on 4.3.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes