5,598,171 Members 44,069 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Solved.

Tip us?
 
starbeard89
Old
(Last edited by starbeard89; 17th January 2014 at 01:14 PM.) Reason: Question Answered.
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
Question [Q] Solved.

..
 
xtrymind
Old
#2  
xtrymind's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 217
Posts: 335
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bandung
Quote:
Originally Posted by starbeard89 View Post
Hello,

I have looked quite a bit, but I can't find anything to help (perhaps I'm using the wrong search terms or something). The problem I keep running into is that, even with wiping cache, dalvik cache, and data/factory reset, gapps keeps on coming back. I've flashed the latest CM11 nightly, the latest Purity, and the latest BS Harmony, all without flashing gapps, but when it boots up, sure enough, gapps are there. Why are gapps still there, and what can I do to get rid of them?

Thank you in advance!
Yes because it has backup system yo backup gapps, if you want to get rid of gapps, go to mounts and storage on cwm and do format system, and then flash cm11 or other rom

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Device: LG Nexus 4 Black 16GB
Rom: CyanogenMod 11
Kernel: "Special" Stock CM 11
Recovery: "Special" TWRP 2.7.0.0
The Following User Says Thank You to xtrymind For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Berrydroidcafe
Old
#3  
Berrydroidcafe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 220
Posts: 976
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cleveland Ohio - San Diego Ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by starbeard89 View Post
Hello,

I have looked quite a bit, but I can't find anything to help (perhaps I'm using the wrong search terms or something). The problem I keep running into is that, even with wiping cache, dalvik cache, and data/factory reset, gapps keeps on coming back. I've flashed the latest CM11 nightly, the latest Purity, and the latest BS Harmony, all without flashing gapps, but when it boots up, sure enough, gapps are there. Why are gapps still there, and what can I do to get rid of them?

Thank you in advance!
If I'm not mistaken, some devs do add some gapps into their roms. Not all of them mind you. Also when you do a factory reset via the recovery, it doesn't wipe the system partition. Most roms will wipe it when it (rom) is flashed, so gapps from previous roms wouldn't or shouldn't be there.

Sent from my Nexus 7 (2013)
Blackberry Bold 9780 OS 7
HTC G2 (Desire Z) 4.4.2
LG Nexus 4 4.4.2
Asus Nexus 7 (2013) 4.4.2

Don't forget to hit the Thanks button if I helped in any way!

 
starbeard89
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtrymind View Post
Yes because it has backup system yo backup gapps, if you want to get rid of gapps, go to mounts and storage on cwm and do format system, and then flash cm11 or other rom

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Thank you. I'm feeling sheepish.
 
Berrydroidcafe
Old
#5  
Berrydroidcafe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 220
Posts: 976
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cleveland Ohio - San Diego Ca
You're welcome.

Sent from my Nexus 7 (2013)
Blackberry Bold 9780 OS 7
HTC G2 (Desire Z) 4.4.2
LG Nexus 4 4.4.2
Asus Nexus 7 (2013) 4.4.2

Don't forget to hit the Thanks button if I helped in any way!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes