Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,619 Members 51,939 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

The ultimate Nexus 4 digitizer failure thread

Tip us?

NamNamNom
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Default The ultimate Nexus 4 digitizer failure thread

I've been using this phone for around 14 months now. I've always thought about how LG managed to build a phone like this and sell it for 300 bucks. Well two days ago I got the answer. The lower part of my screen just stopped functioning, thus disabling my buttons. I searched for this problem and found a MASSIVE thread on google support forums about this. Basically the lower part of the digitizer just goes full retard. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. And when it doesn't work it makes the entire phone lag (on a custom rom)(it doesn't work 95% of the time).

To fix this i tried to make the navbar slightly bigger, but that resulted in a growth of the defected part. And using PIE or button saviour is just a pain for me.

I made this thread to let people know that this problem exists. If the next Nexus phone is made by LG, I'm buying something else.

This is an open discussion, so anyone with a similar problem/fix can post.

CCody
Old
Thanks Meter 76
I really dont know, what you guys actually do with your phones. I am using my nexus 4 for about 1 and a half year now, has been dropped twice with two scratches on the edges - no screen broken, no bootloop ever, no nothing. I can say of myself that I am not the friend of bumpers or screen protectors or any of those ugly things. I also flash a lot, try out a lot of apps - my nexus 4 has seen it all.
But not only the nexus 4, also my previous phones are fine and they still work (a nokia 5130 xpress music and a sony ericsson u10i). Thats why I thing a phone is just as good/stable/great as the user do. Of course there are a lot of issues out there but I think they dont appear from nowhere.