5,600,429 Members 32,860 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Warning message during Android 4.4 OTA Update process

Tip us?
 
mrsep
Old
(Last edited by mrsep; 17th December 2013 at 07:04 PM.) Reason: typo
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Warning message during Android 4.4 OTA Update process

Hello everybody out there using the Nexus 4

My question is basically very simple, the background is a little complicated, or at least very annoying for me. Here you go:

Is there any hint or warning screen before or during the OTA update process, which tells the user, that "installing a new system update may revert your settings to default" or something similar?

I expect, that this question might sound a little strange to you guys, but the answer is very important for me. Thanks you very much on advance for your help!

------------------------------------------------------------
Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
 
bad_HABIT
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 72
Join Date: Jun 2010
Applying an OTA through the android system if you;re running stock will not wipe your data. If you do it manually though though ADB that's a different story.
 
mrsep
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bad_HABIT View Post
Applying an OTA through the android system if you;re running stock will not wipe your data. If you do it manually though though ADB that's a different story.
I'm sorry bad_HABIT, but this doesn't answer my question. I'm not interested whether changes actually happen or can not happen, I'm only interested whether there is a warning for the user.
 
albundy2010
Old
#4  
albundy2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1866
Posts: 3,203
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsep View Post
Hello everybody out there using the Nexus 4

My question is basically very simple, the background is a little complicated, or at least very annoying for me. Here you go:

Is there any hint or warning screen before or during the OTA update process, which tells the user, that "installing a new system update may revert your settings to default" or something similar?

I expect, that this question might sound a little strange to you guys, but the answer is very important for me. Thanks you very much on advance for your help!

------------------------------------------------------------
Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
No. And there is absolutely no need for one.

Installing a ota update with never reset your settings to default.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes