Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] wifi issues - stock 4.4.2

OP salespalace

4th May 2014, 11:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
my nexus 4 has an issue, where it connects to my wifi but it just doesn't work, as in web browser doesn't load any pages, play store doesnt work.

i've read numerous threads about many nexus 4 users having these problems but haven't found the solution. if anyone can provide me some help with a solution. im on stock 4.4.2
4th May 2014, 11:15 PM   |  #2  
sp99's Avatar
Member
Flag Heswall
Thanks Meter: 3
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Have you tried wiping the cache partition on recovery? Also is it only with one WiFi network?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
5th May 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #3  
Oxious119's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Might wanna try to set the frequency to 2,4ghz only. Some routers don't like if it's set to automatic.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app
5th May 2014, 08:56 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sp99

Have you tried wiping the cache partition on recovery? Also is it only with one WiFi network?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

no its with every wifi network.
5th May 2014, 08:56 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxious119

Might wanna try to set the frequency to 2,4ghz only. Some routers don't like if it's set to automatic.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Free mobile app

ill try this out now. thanks.

EDIT: no difference, still nothing works.

would you advise to flash a custom rom?
Last edited by salespalace; 5th May 2014 at 09:01 AM.
5th May 2014, 09:45 AM   |  #6  
sp99's Avatar
Member
Flag Heswall
Thanks Meter: 3
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by salespalace

no its with every wifi network.

Have you tried wiping the cache partition? It doesn't require root. If that doesn't work try factory reset. Then take it back or flash CyanogenMod (which will void warranty).

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to sp99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2014, 09:48 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
271 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sp99

Have you tried wiping the cache partition? It doesn't require root. If that doesn't work try factory reset. Then take it back or flash CyanogenMod (which will void warranty).

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Thanks.

am i right in assuming i can only wipe my cache through an app? if that's the case it doesnt change anything.
i've tried to enter recovery mode, but i don't think i can as im not on a custom kernel. please correct me if im wrong.

and should the latest cyanogenmod suffice? or would you recommend a specific build?
5th May 2014, 10:02 AM   |  #8  
sp99's Avatar
Member
Flag Heswall
Thanks Meter: 3
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by salespalace

Thanks.

am i right in assuming i can only wipe my cache through an app? if that's the case it doesnt change anything.
i've tried to enter recovery mode, but i don't think i can as im not on a custom kernel. please correct me if im wrong.

and should the latest cyanogenmod suffice? or would you recommend a specific build?

You don't need a custom kernal.
This is from an email from Google regarding my nexus 7, it should be the same:
Hold the*Power Button*until the device powers down completely.Press and hold*Power Button*and*Volume Downsimultaneously.Once at the Android bootloader screen, pressVolume down*until you see the option*Recovery mode.Press*Power*button to restart into*Recovery mode. You should see an image of an Android with a red exclamation point.While holding down the*Power button, pressVolume Up.Use the Volume keys to scroll down to*wipe cache partition*and press*Power*Button*to select it. The device should clear the cache instantly.*Select and press the*Power Button*on*Reboot System Now, then see if the issue is resolved.

I used the CyanogenMod installer and then I switched to the nightly builds after a nandroid backup.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Last edited by sp99; 5th May 2014 at 01:32 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes