Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[KERNEL][GPL][N4] franco.Kernel - r213

OP franciscofranco

24th February 2013, 12:20 PM   |  #15431  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Franco, could you inplement sanity checks for the UV values? I accidentally typed in 105 instead of 1050 for 1.5Ghz, and it immediatly rebooted. I know it is my fault, but since the CPU couldn't ever run at that voltage anyway, it should probably set everything to 500 min?

Or if you are giving users maximum freedom to try to get as low as possible, that is fine too. Then disregard this. Also, if you already have the checks in place.
24th February 2013, 12:23 PM   |  #15432  
trailblazerz11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 1,337
 
1,236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Re: [KERNEL][GPL][N4] franco.Kernel - r90
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArRaY92

Franco, could you inplement sanity checks for the UV values? I accidentally typed in 105 instead of 1050 for 1.5Ghz, and it immediatly rebooted. I know it is my fault, but since the CPU couldn't ever run at that voltage anyway, it should probably set everything to 500 min?

Or if you are giving users maximum freedom to try to get as low as possible, that is fine too. Then disregard this. Also, if you already have the checks in place.

Minimum is 750 still I think. Which would still cause 1512 to reboot.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to trailblazerz11 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 12:33 PM   |  #15433  
drawde40599's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,781
 
4,842 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
90 test
90test was working flawless , set on nexus orb to charge for a while, hour or so , pulled off and could not get onto internet with WiFi or data , signal was good and bars were blue , but just stalled wouldnt get onto internet till i rebooted now its fine ATM .... , running it 100% stock settings , have not had this happen at all before 90 . could be one time thing we'll see , sorry didn't get log but I will if happens agn . thought ID mention jic others start seeing this ....

Thanks Franco really like 90test
24th February 2013, 12:42 PM   |  #15434  
Member
Flag Dornbirn
Thanks Meter: 9
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
AW: [KERNEL][GPL][N4] franco.Kernel - r90
I really don't give to ****s about benchmarks but nonetheless r86 was already great for me but now with r90 it's even better! (above 21k in antutu)
Same settings as before.

Thanks again franco!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
24th February 2013, 12:48 PM   |  #15435  
Dan53's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 183
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Re: [KERNEL][GPL][N4] franco.Kernel - r90
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArRaY92

Franco, could you inplement sanity checks for the UV values? I accidentally typed in 105 instead of 1050 for 1.5Ghz, and it immediatly rebooted. I know it is my fault, but since the CPU couldn't ever run at that voltage anyway, it should probably set everything to 500 min?

Or if you are giving users maximum freedom to try to get as low as possible, that is fine too. Then disregard this. Also, if you already have the checks in place.

I don't think he cares for UV enough. You get no support for UV'ing which is probably why he didn't spend too much time on it.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 01:06 PM   |  #15436  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
AW: [KERNEL][GPL][N4] franco.Kernel - r90
Hrm I'm getting anxious. Hope my favourite Rom is being updated soon so I can try the recent kernels....

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
24th February 2013, 01:09 PM   |  #15437  
Evil_munki's Avatar
Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 6
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Re: [KERNEL][GPL][N4] franco.Kernel - r90
Quote:
Originally Posted by franciscofranco

Yep, your binary is ****ed as I thought. You need to flash supersu again from the recovery or even try to uninstall SuperSu and install it again from the market.

Thanks I had the same issue regarding SuperSU and reflashing fixed it.

Sent from my Nexus 4
24th February 2013, 01:18 PM   |  #15438  
-JFK-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nantes
Thanks Meter: 316
 
874 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Benchmark question
Hi all,

I know that benchmark are less important than the feeling but I have a question.
I have just flash Xylon ROM (Full wipe) then do some Antutu tests :

Stock Kernel : 23000
Franco Kernel : 21000
Faux (@ 1.8GHz) : 12000

How can we explaine that a stock kernel give better score than an enchanced one with stock frequency (Franco) and much more better than an overclocked one (Faux) ???

Thank's for your help.
24th February 2013, 01:22 PM   |  #15439  
Senior Member
Flag Lyon
Thanks Meter: 76
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Re: [KERNEL][GPL][N4] franco.Kernel - r90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luigiesin

Uve got it.. Doing it right now

Sent from my Rock & Roll Nexus 4 \m/
ROM: PA 3.0 (Feb15)
Kernel: Franco r90
T-Mobile

---------- Post added at 11:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:23 PM ----------



Was just able to uninstall the update.. Won't let me uninstall the whole app..
Also because of that my colors are all screwed up... So is definitely an issue with binary..
Checking on the play store, some users are reporting problems updating binary

Sent from my Rock & Roll Nexus 4 \m/
ROM: PA 3.0 (Feb15)
Kernel: Franco r90
T-Mobile

---------- Post added at 11:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:31 PM ----------

Just installed the pro version and same thing.. Now it doesn't show any apps in the list and won't let me update binary..

Sent from my Rock & Roll Nexus 4 \m/
ROM: PA 3.0 (Feb15)
Kernel: Franco r90
T-Mobile

---------- Post added at 11:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:39 PM ----------

Restoring nandroid... Wasn't able to fix it..... Let me know if you any ideas..

Sent from my Nexus 7 using tapatalk pro
ROM: MINCO v6.2.1 N7
Kernel: Franco r46
T-Mobile USA

Same thing happened to me with r85. I tried all things possible to solve the problem. Only thing that worked is dirty flashing my whole ROM again (without wiping data). BTW I'm on slim bean 4.2.1... Don't know if it matters but I use 4.2.2 kernel with no (other) issue.

HTH

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 02:01 PM   |  #15440  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 948
 
2,972 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Re: [KERNEL][GPL][N4] franco.Kernel - r90
Quote:
Originally Posted by -JFK-

Hi all,

I know that benchmark are less important than the feeling but I have a question.
I have just flash Xylon ROM (Full wipe) then do some Antutu tests :

Stock Kernel : 23000
Franco Kernel : 21000
Faux (@ 1.8GHz) : 12000

How can we explaine that a stock kernel give better score than an enchanced one with stock frequency (Franco) and much more better than an overclocked one (Faux) ???

Thank's for your help.


Faxus scores low because he has his own implentation of hot plugging and ramping ... His kernel doesn't get tricked by high long loads like benches ... So it auto down clocks

So his kernel is still smooth butndossnt do well in benches

Sent from my Nexus



Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by italia0101; 24th February 2013 at 02:03 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
battery, franciscofranco, franco, kernel, mako, nexus, updater
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes