Post Reply

[APP] Cell Broadcasts - Emergency Alert System

OP ackliph

7th January 2013, 07:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Little Rock
Thanks Meter: 106
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
My biggest hold back on installing CM10 or AOKP was the lack of Cell Broadcasts built in. But low an behold I was able to restore it from a Titanium Backup. I figured I'd go ahead and share it here for all. And maybe for myself if I ever lose it!

This for sure installed on AOKP. At least it installed, I'll have to wait until Wednesday when they do the test to confirm it works.

To install (this is old, the link at bottom has a flashable zip.):
1. Copy the "CellBroadcastReceiver.apk" into "/system/app"
2. Change the permissions to "rw- r-- r--"
3. Restart

It wont be a normal app, but it should appear under Settings --> More... --> Cell broadcasts

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-01-07-00-49-33.jpg
Views:	4450
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	1624156
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-01-07-00-49-41.jpg
Views:	3956
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	1624157

ENJOY!

Edit: rmkilc is awesome and made a flashable zip! Install-CellBroadcastReceiver-1.0.zip
Attached Files
File Type: zip Cell Broadcasts 4.2.1-533553.zip - [Click for QR Code] (145.6 KB, 1005 views)
Last edited by ackliph; 15th January 2013 at 03:35 PM.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to ackliph For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th January 2013, 11:04 AM   |  #2  
3Shirts's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bedford
Thanks Meter: 302
 
1,454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Sorry for the stupid question but... what does it do?
7th January 2013, 11:11 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Shirts

Sorry for the stupid question but... what does it do?

It let's you receive alerts about threats and things like that.
8th January 2013, 10:17 PM   |  #4  
Turbocom's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 21
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Rather pointless to be honest.
The Following User Says Thank You to Turbocom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2013, 03:10 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Alabama
Thanks Meter: 43
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbocom

Rather pointless to be honest.

As someone who has received numerous EAS alerts about shootings/tornadoes in the local metro area, I have to say it is very much not pointless.
The Following User Says Thank You to jhawkins002 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2013, 03:23 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Little Rock
Thanks Meter: 106
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbocom

Rather pointless to be honest.

It may not be for everyone. But for me, in Arkansas, I find it useful for Tornado warnings. The AMBER alerts are good too. Apps use data and GPS, thus killing your battery. This is a more stable system than some app. Most of the time my phone's WiFi is connected to some shoddy open Linksys router and in and out of proper data service anyway.

Cell Broadcast is like receiving a free text. Good for those on limited data plans, or those that need to be safe!

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cell_Broadcast

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
9th January 2013, 09:28 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
But... aren't cell broadcasts are a standard feature on this phone?

To be found under Setting, More.. and Cell boradcasts.
9th January 2013, 10:04 PM   |  #8  
HuckFinn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 81
 
356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jutezak

But... aren't cell broadcasts are a standard feature on this phone?

To be found under Setting, More.. and Cell boradcasts.

I think this was standard on the STOCK build, I can not remember since I rooted and flashed CM10 nearly the same day I got the phone. The point of this as the OP states is that once you flash CM10 you lose this functionality. He provided a way to recover that functionality.
9th January 2013, 10:07 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Why does this get stripped out when they build the ROMs? I can't imagine anyone actually thinking it'd be a good idea to remove this, is it an oversight?
10th January 2013, 11:18 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Cell broadcasts are true broadcasts, so there are no network overload issues when sending them out.

And they work as soon as there is coverage. If you are roaming somewhere without data, the broadcasts will still work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cell broadcast receiver, cell broadcasts, eas, emergency alert system
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 4 Themes and Apps by ThreadRank