5,605,766 Members 48,092 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] Facebook Home for Nexus 4

Tip us?
 
wolfboy1984
Old
(Last edited by wolfboy1984; 25th May 2013 at 02:55 AM.)
#1  
wolfboy1984's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 703
Posts: 992
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
Default [APP] Facebook Home for Nexus 4

EDIT - MODACO modified apks FOR ANY DEVICE are now up. No root required for these. Below is the original method using the Google Play version of Facebook Home .apk Chat heads will work etc!

************************************************** ************************************************** ************************

So I've finally got Home working on my N4... I knew I'd get it working in the end. Now I've tried it - it's OK.

Instructions...

1. (ROOT NEEDED!) Change build.prop to GS3 / HTC One X etc... BuildPropEditor Just change ro.product.model from 'Nexus 4' to 'HTC One X'. REBOOT to take affect!

2. Delete other versions of FB Home from your phone. Ensure current Facebook AND Messenger apps are updated. Clear these apps data.

3. Download and install home.apk (This is the unmodified Google Play version).

4. Sign in. Facebook app settings > Enable Facebook Home.

5. Revert build.prop and REBOOT!

6. Hit thanks and ENJOY for a little while. Maybe. Then uninstall.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-12-19-15-49.jpg
Views:	5848
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	1879418  
The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to wolfboy1984 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cybertlc
Old
(Last edited by cybertlc; 12th April 2013 at 07:22 PM.)
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 79
Join Date: Dec 2010
[QUOTE=wolfboy1984;40224037]1. Change build.prop to GS3 / HTC One X etc

2. Update current apps. Clear data.

3. Download and install Facebook.home.apk from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=40223609 this thread.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cybertlc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wolfboy1984
Old
#3  
wolfboy1984's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 703
Posts: 992
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
I changed everything I could but here... I think device, model and build are the most important.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1365790681795.jpg
Views:	5470
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	1878658   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1365790690317.jpg
Views:	4868
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	1878659   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1365790698692.jpg
Views:	4641
Size:	37.9 KB
ID:	1878660   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1365790707409.jpg
Views:	4571
Size:	63.4 KB
ID:	1878661  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to wolfboy1984 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lazyboy0172
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 137
Join Date: Jun 2007
thanks for the build prop values. I changed ro.product.device, ro.product.manufacturer ro.product.model ro.product.brand and ro.build.product to the ones you had for the One X. Not sure if all 5 were necessary, but they were easy enough to change, and I got facebook, messenger, and home installed and running then set them back to mako/LGE/Nexus 4/Google as necessary and rebooted, home is working just fine still
 
LarsenB
Old
#5  
LarsenB's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 137
Join Date: Oct 2012
Finally got it working!
Cheers.
 
wolfboy1984
Old
#6  
wolfboy1984's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 703
Posts: 992
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
You are right. I'm sure not all are necessary. I was just making sure I guess.
The ones in the OP are the important ones (I think). Will change once someone confirms.
 
sandpaperback
Old
#7  
sandpaperback's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 216
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfboy1984 View Post
You are right. I'm sure not all are necessary. I was just making sure I guess.
The ones in the OP are the important ones (I think). Will change once someone confirms.
The only one I changed was ro.product.model from Nexus 4 to HTC One X. Home installed and is working fine!
The Following User Says Thank You to sandpaperback For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KevinChaos
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 242
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazyboy0172 View Post
thanks for the build prop values. I changed ro.product.device, ro.product.manufacturer ro.product.model ro.product.brand and ro.build.product to the ones you had for the One X. Not sure if all 5 were necessary, but they were easy enough to change, and I got facebook, messenger, and home installed and running then set them back to mako/LGE/Nexus 4/Google as necessary and rebooted, home is working just fine still
Wait... So I can change the values, and then once home is running I can change them back? That doesn't seem right to me, but if it's true I'd be so down!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium HD app
 
sandpaperback
Old
#9  
sandpaperback's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 216
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinChaos View Post
Wait... So I can change the values, and then once home is running I can change them back? That doesn't seem right to me, but if it's true I'd be so down!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium HD app
I can confirm that I changed my model back to Nexus 4, rebooted and Home is still there. Neat.
 
bsaidmalta
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 23
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks! That didn't take long haha, works perfectly. I think you should edit the thread so that people will know that they have to reboot in order for the new build.prop settings stick.

The Following User Says Thank You to bsaidmalta For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes