FORUMS

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

[APP] Facebook Home for Nexus 4

993 posts
Thanks Meter: 712
 
By wolfboy1984, Senior Member on 12th April 2013, 07:10 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
EDIT - MODACO modified apks FOR ANY DEVICE are now up. No root required for these. Below is the original method using the Google Play version of Facebook Home .apk Chat heads will work etc!

************************************************** ************************************************** ************************

So I've finally got Home working on my N4... I knew I'd get it working in the end. Now I've tried it - it's OK.

Instructions...

1. (ROOT NEEDED!) Change build.prop to GS3 / HTC One X etc... BuildPropEditor Just change ro.product.model from 'Nexus 4' to 'HTC One X'. REBOOT to take affect!

2. Delete other versions of FB Home from your phone. Ensure current Facebook AND Messenger apps are updated. Clear these apps data.

3. Download and install home.apk (This is the unmodified Google Play version).

4. Sign in. Facebook app settings > Enable Facebook Home.

5. Revert build.prop and REBOOT!

6. Hit thanks and ENJOY for a little while. Maybe. Then uninstall.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-04-12-19-15-49.jpg
Views:	5862
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	1879418  
Last edited by wolfboy1984; 25th May 2013 at 02:55 AM.
The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to wolfboy1984 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
12th April 2013, 07:13 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
[QUOTE=wolfboy1984;40224037]1. Change build.prop to GS3 / HTC One X etc

2. Update current apps. Clear data.

3. Download and install Facebook.home.apk from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=40223609 this thread.
Last edited by cybertlc; 12th April 2013 at 07:22 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cybertlc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2013, 07:19 PM |#3  
wolfboy1984's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 712
 
More
I changed everything I could but here... I think device, model and build are the most important.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1365790681795.jpg
Views:	5474
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	1878658   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1365790690317.jpg
Views:	4872
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	1878659   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1365790698692.jpg
Views:	4645
Size:	37.9 KB
ID:	1878660   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1365790707409.jpg
Views:	4575
Size:	63.4 KB
ID:	1878661  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to wolfboy1984 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2013, 07:37 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
thanks for the build prop values. I changed ro.product.device, ro.product.manufacturer ro.product.model ro.product.brand and ro.build.product to the ones you had for the One X. Not sure if all 5 were necessary, but they were easy enough to change, and I got facebook, messenger, and home installed and running then set them back to mako/LGE/Nexus 4/Google as necessary and rebooted, home is working just fine still
12th April 2013, 07:38 PM |#5  
LarsenB's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Finally got it working!
Cheers.
12th April 2013, 07:42 PM |#6  
wolfboy1984's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 712
 
More
You are right. I'm sure not all are necessary. I was just making sure I guess.
The ones in the OP are the important ones (I think). Will change once someone confirms.
12th April 2013, 07:43 PM |#7  
sandpaperback's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfboy1984

You are right. I'm sure not all are necessary. I was just making sure I guess.
The ones in the OP are the important ones (I think). Will change once someone confirms.

The only one I changed was ro.product.model from Nexus 4 to HTC One X. Home installed and is working fine!
The Following User Says Thank You to sandpaperback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th April 2013, 07:44 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazyboy0172

thanks for the build prop values. I changed ro.product.device, ro.product.manufacturer ro.product.model ro.product.brand and ro.build.product to the ones you had for the One X. Not sure if all 5 were necessary, but they were easy enough to change, and I got facebook, messenger, and home installed and running then set them back to mako/LGE/Nexus 4/Google as necessary and rebooted, home is working just fine still

Wait... So I can change the values, and then once home is running I can change them back? That doesn't seem right to me, but if it's true I'd be so down!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium HD app
12th April 2013, 07:51 PM |#9  
sandpaperback's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinChaos

Wait... So I can change the values, and then once home is running I can change them back? That doesn't seem right to me, but if it's true I'd be so down!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium HD app

I can confirm that I changed my model back to Nexus 4, rebooted and Home is still there. Neat.
12th April 2013, 07:52 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Thanks! That didn't take long haha, works perfectly. I think you should edit the thread so that people will know that they have to reboot in order for the new build.prop settings stick.
The Following User Says Thank You to bsaidmalta For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes