5,600,292 Members 37,548 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] Intelli3G - 2G/3G/4G Toggle and battery saver for stock android

Tip us?
 
veagles
Old
(Last edited by veagles; 5th April 2014 at 05:41 AM.) Reason: Added beta test group
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 393
Posts: 167
Join Date: Nov 2010
Smile [APP] Intelli3G - 2G/3G/4G Toggle and battery saver for stock android

** This app will only work on ROOTED Stock Android 4.1+ or AOSP ROMS **
** Xposed framework is required http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1574401 **
** Nexus 4 is only device supported as of now **
Nexus 4 is officially supported. Devices on which this app works as confirmed by users:
- Nexus 5
- Galaxy S4/S2 TouchWiz
- Note 3 ToutchWiz

Intelli3G will intelligently manage your 3G connection and prevent your phone from losing battery when you are not using it. Intelli3G will put your phone on 2G network when its your pocket. It will not disable your data like most other apps. You will still get all your notifications with minimal battery drain.

Features:
- Manual 2G/3G toggle.
- Option to use GSM Auto mode for 3G which is more battery friendly than the default WCDMA preferred mode.
- 3G only mode, for those times when you need bandwidth immediately.
- A lightweight service to disable switch to 2G when you are not using your device.
- Delay switch to 2G if a download is active.
- Option to disable service on call or WiFi.

I observed the below facts about the Nexus 4:
- On 3G idle, you lose around 3-4% battery per hour depending on your 3G network strength.
- On 2G idle, you will lose less than 1% per hour.
I realized that I was constantly disabling 3G to get through the day. Then, I wrote this app to replace all the manual toggling to conserve battery.

If you have had the following problems on your Nexus 4, do try this app
- You lose a significant amount of battery charge overnight.
- You see msm_hsic_host wakelock (related to 3G radio) eating away most of your battery.
- You get less than 3 hours screen on time on a full charge.

Intelli3G is still in development, your suggestions are welcome.

Installation:
- If you are rooted, install Xposed framework from here http://dl.xposed.info/latest.apk and reboot your device.
- After installing the app, enable the Intelli3G Xposed module and reboot

Thanks to the @Robin>Hood, this was on XDA homepage
http://www.xda-developers.com/androi...ith-intelli3g/

Tasker integration:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=208

Download on google play store:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...apps.intelli3g

Paypal donate url:
http://donate-i3g.vikranth.in

Beta:
Join this test group https://plus.google.com/communities/...68870659073124
And opt in to get beta in play store https://play.google.com/apps/testing...apps.intelli3g
The Following 149 Users Say Thank You to veagles For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
veagles
Old
(Last edited by veagles; 12th April 2014 at 02:53 PM.) Reason: Updated images
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 393
Posts: 167
Join Date: Nov 2010
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to veagles For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
eurochild
Old
#3  
eurochild's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 221
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Athens
This is great!
I cant get it to work though, the only switch that is working is when i am on 2g/3g back to 2g when enabling wifi or when turning off mobile data, it doesnt switch to 2g/3g when i am on 2g and turning mobile data on, i tried with both on and off in the first setting.

Paranoid Android 4+ powered by hells-Core kernel
 
veagles
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 393
Posts: 167
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by eurochild View Post
This is great!
I cant get it to work though, the only switch that is working is when i am on 2g/3g back to 2g when enabling wifi or when turning off mobile data, it doesnt switch to 2g/3g when i am on 2g and turning mobile data on, i tried with both on and off in the first setting.
Thanks for the feedback, eurochild.

I have only implemented 3G -> 2G on idle as of now. Since going from 2G -> 3G involves a data disconnect most of the times, I don't want to do it often.

I did think of implementing 2G -> 3G on phone unlock, but then it will involve too many unnecessary switches to 3G. e.g. if you just replying to a message, which will work perfectly fine on 2G.

So, 2G -> 3G is manual as of now.

More suggestions are welcome!
 
eurochild
Old
#5  
eurochild's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 221
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Athens
I suggest you add that with an option to enable/disable for those who would like an automatic switch, besides a switch from 2g to 2g/3g (wcdma prefered) doesnt involve a data disconnect. Thanks again and i think that this little app will be loved by lots of users!

Paranoid Android 4+ powered by hells-Core kernel
The Following User Says Thank You to eurochild For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
veagles
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 393
Posts: 167
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by eurochild View Post
I suggest you add that with an option to enable/disable for those who would like an automatic switch, besides a switch from 2g to 2g/3g (wcdma prefered) doesnt involve a data disconnect. Thanks again and i think that this little app will be loved by lots of users!
I will add this in the next release.

You can now download the app from play store.
The Following User Says Thank You to veagles For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
veagles
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 393
Posts: 167
Join Date: Nov 2010
v1.02
- Fixed a bug in loading the xposed module. If it wasn't working correctly, update the app from play store
 
brian88
Old
#8  
brian88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 404
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Saigon
Nice app, but I'm using Cata, will try when I change ROM, sure

Sent from my Nexus 4
 
Jason102
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2013
Very nice app, exactly what I was looking for. It appears to work (as far as I can tell) on my S4 with 4.3 AOSP (Kangabean). I did have a single crash, and the toggle for disable on Wi-Fi doesn't appear to save. I love the start, though.
 
veeholics
Old
(Last edited by veeholics; 24th December 2013 at 05:17 AM.)
#10  
veeholics's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 78
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jakarta
Wow this is really nice! One thing that benefits cataclysm from any other fully featured roms is smart radio. Now that this mod exists, everyone can implement smart radio-like goodies into any rom! Or simply saying, any android device as it's an xposed module! Genius work!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

The Following User Says Thank You to veeholics For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes