FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

[APP] Nexus 4 Modem Flasher and LTE enabler [11/10/2014]

1,783 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,584
 
By bpear96, Senior Member on 12th January 2014, 03:10 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have been working on this app for the past week and it is finally ready for release! It needs some cleaning up and a couple more features, but it is fully working as is. I had no experience with java or android app development before creating this. I am currently taking Computer Science at school and learning C++



Current features:
  • Choose and flash all of the available stock Nexus 4 modem images
  • Choose to flash some of the most popular Hybrid Modems with LTE enabled (More coming soon)
  • Auto flashes in recovery
  • Enable needed LTE at the push of a button
  • Ability to install latest TWRP for Nexus 4 from app.

Planned features:
  • CM Backup script for build.prop tweaks
  • Clean up UI
  • Credits in app
  • Request something good

Requirements:
  • Nexus 4 of course
  • Root

Credits:
Changelog


Available on Google Play
Or direct download here

App is now open source!
https://github.com/bpear96/Nexus-4-Modem-Flasher

Donate if you feel like it .

Will I get LTE on my carrier?
This can enable Band 4 LTE on the nexus 4. T-Mobile in the USA uses this for their entire current LTE network. AT&T in US uses it in select locations. Various carriers in Canada and Mexico are also using Band 4. Check the link above for your carrier.
Attached Files
File Type: apk Nexus 4 Modem Flasher 1.4.apk - [Click for QR Code] (453.5 KB, 3296 views)
Last edited by bpear96; 11th November 2014 at 10:35 PM.
The Following 111 Users Say Thank You to bpear96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
12th January 2014, 03:52 AM |#2  
yochananmarqos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins, CO
Thanks Meter: 531
 
Donate to Me
More
Looks nice, man. I've already got an LTE modem installed, but will be handy for going back to stock.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yochananmarqos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 04:03 AM |#3  
bpear96's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,584
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yochananmarqos

Looks nice, man. I've already got an LTE modem installed, but will be handy for going back to stock.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Thanks man! Feel free to let me know any suggestions or features requests you might have.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bpear96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 04:08 AM |#4  
yochananmarqos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins, CO
Thanks Meter: 531
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpear96

Thanks man! Feel free to let me know any suggestions or features requests you might have.

Hmmm.... Maybe add a shortcut for *#*#4636#*#*?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to yochananmarqos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 04:18 AM |#5  
bpear96's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,584
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yochananmarqos

Hmmm.... Maybe add a shortcut for *#*#4636#*#*?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Oh yeah! Great Idea. I will do that, thanks!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bpear96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 07:24 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
More
What modems come with the package?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
12th January 2014, 07:36 AM |#7  
yochananmarqos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins, CO
Thanks Meter: 531
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisrozon

What modems come with the package?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app




Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to yochananmarqos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 05:20 PM |#8  
bpear96's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,584
 
Donate to Me
More
What do you guys think I should do something like this http://puu.sh/6iywW.png ? Or just leave just the 3 tabs , without the left drawer. I can put the Phone info menu (*#*#4636#*#*) in the overflow menu(top 3 tabs) along with about instead of the left drawer. Idk if its really needed

Edit: Or this maybe http://puu.sh/6iyQN.png , I think this might be the better option ?
Last edited by bpear96; 12th January 2014 at 05:31 PM.
12th January 2014, 05:53 PM |#9  
yochananmarqos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins, CO
Thanks Meter: 531
 
Donate to Me
More
Three tabs + overflow menu is fine. However, if you go with the left menu I'd say put everything in it & get rid of the overflow menu.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to yochananmarqos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 05:53 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Thumbs down
Nice app idea but unfortunately it did not work, tried enabling LTE and my phone froze and after a couple of minutes the app stop responding and it closed, same thing happened when I tried to flash hybrid radio, waited 5 minutes and never rebooted never flashed
12th January 2014, 06:01 PM |#11  
bpear96's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,584
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsdapm27

Nice app idea but unfortunately it did not work, tried enabling LTE and my phone froze and after a couple of minutes the app stop responding and it closed, same thing happened when I tried to flash hybrid radio, waited 5 minutes and never rebooted never flashed

Hmm, probably a stupid question but are you rooted? SuperSu or superuser? Did it ask for SU permissions?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes