FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[KERNEL][AOSP/CM][15/05/15] Quanta - V3

3,841 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,292
 
By zaclimon, Recognized Contributor on 9th July 2014, 02:42 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
31st August 2015, 12:27 AM |#191  
zaclimon's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 4,292
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw86

Yeah, tried a couple of the widgets for a few days, DT2W and magnetic lid switch. I never had any problem with them not working during that time, and only stopped using them because it was so easy to set my ideal settings in quanta tweaks that I didn't really need to toggle anything.

Alright that's good to see. Just wondering, is there any features that you would like to see in QT? I already planned QT to be a full kernel manager but I'm still searching for ways making it *unique*.
 
 
31st August 2015, 01:57 AM |#192  
Senior Member
Flag Congleton, Cheshire.
Thanks Meter: 264
 
More
Personally, I'd like to see a lower min CPU frequency...I know it's hardly a unique feature, but it's a start...😊
31st August 2015, 05:56 AM |#193  
quickdraw86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Harrisburg, SD
Thanks Meter: 845
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaclimon

Alright that's good to see. Just wondering, is there any features that you would like to see in QT? I already planned QT to be a full kernel manager but I'm still searching for ways making it *unique*.

Actually, yeah. Wouldn't be an original feature really, but information about CPU speed, GPU rate, temperature, etc. Would be nice. A widget to display information about current CPU, GPU, and temperature values, with a variable refresh rate, would be nice too.
Last edited by quickdraw86; 31st August 2015 at 05:58 AM.
31st August 2015, 11:09 AM |#194  
zaclimon's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 4,292
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHABBYLEA

Personally, I'd like to see a lower min CPU frequency...I know it's hardly a unique feature, but it's a start...😊

I've included 192 mhz as a min frequency before. Though because it hasn't shown really much a difference, I decided to removed it. That said, I could put it back later XD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw86

Actually, yeah. Wouldn't be an original feature really, but information about CPU speed, GPU rate, temperature, etc. Would be nice. A widget to display information about current CPU, GPU, and temperature values, with a variable refresh rate, would be nice too.

Yeah that's what I thought I would do. Changing cpu, GPU speeds, color stuff, etc. As for the widgets, I could implement something like show the current max frequency instead of showing the real running frequency. I have a feeling that it will destroy the battery die due to the number of updates it has to make every time the frequency changes. :/

Envoyé de mon Nexus 7 en utilisant Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to zaclimon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st August 2015, 11:23 AM |#195  
quickdraw86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Harrisburg, SD
Thanks Meter: 845
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaclimon

I've included 192 mhz as a min frequency before. Though because it hasn't shown really much a difference, I decided to removed it. That said, I could put it back later XD.

Yeah that's what I thought I would do. Changing cpu, GPU speeds, color stuff, etc. As for the widgets, I could implement something like show the current max frequency instead of showing the real running frequency. I have a feeling that it will destroy the battery die due to the number of updates it has to make every time the frequency changes. :/

Envoyé de mon Nexus 7 en utilisant Tapatalk

That's what I meant by variable update frequency. It doesn't necessarily have to poll in real time, polling in real time would be like including seconds in the clock in ROMs, it is a battery destroyer, I agree. I just meant current Max settings.
The Following User Says Thank You to quickdraw86 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st August 2015, 11:28 AM |#196  
zaclimon's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 4,292
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickdraw86

That's what I meant by variable update frequency. It doesn't necessarily have to poll in real time, polling in real time would be like including seconds in the clock in ROMs, it is a battery destroyer, I agree. I just meant current Max settings.

Alright looks better in that case. Thanks for the explanation! I suppose that tapping the widget would like of open the frequency selector or the current window where you see the frequency card.

Envoyé de mon Nexus 7 en utilisant Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to zaclimon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes