Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus 7 2013 not booting

OP Ultra_Saucy

3rd July 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
So I just bought a nexus 7 off of amazon(used). When I first turned it on, I got the google logo, and it stayed on until I held the power button. It then was blank, and then the google logo showed for about 10 seconds, and then it goes blank, 10 seconds, then blank, ect. unless I go into the bootloader.(it might be worth mentioning that the little unlocked lock icon appears under the google logo.) After I got into the bootloader, I shut the device down and waited for a while(maybe 15 minutes). Then i tried to reboot, and it successfully booted. However, before i could get into the settings to check what version of android it was running, it reboot and got stuck at the google logo again. Is it possible to fix this, or is there a hardware problem? Thanks.
3rd July 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 156
 
504 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra_Saucy

So I just bought a nexus 7 off of amazon(used). When I first turned it on, I got the google logo, and it stayed on until I held the power button. It then was blank, and then the google logo showed for about 10 seconds, and then it goes blank, 10 seconds, then blank, ect. unless I go into the bootloader.(it might be worth mentioning that the little unlocked lock icon appears under the google logo.) After I got into the bootloader, I shut the device down and waited for a while(maybe 15 minutes). Then i tried to reboot, and it successfully booted. However, before i could get into the settings to check what version of android it was running, it reboot and got stuck at the google logo again. Is it possible to fix this, or is there a hardware problem? Thanks.

Have you tried flashing the factory image yet? If I ever bought a used Nexus device, even if it were functional, flashing the factory image would be the very first thing I would do. You never know what the previous owner may have flashed onto it, which is evident by the fact that he/she had already unlocked it. I would say since it's already unlocked, just flash the latest factory image and to make double sure, boot into recovery after flashing and "wipe data/factory data reset." It's a good sign that it at least boots, but you won't know until flashing the factory image.
3rd July 2014, 11:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
OK, so what is the best way to flash the new image?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app
3rd July 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 156
 
504 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra_Saucy

OK, so what is the best way to flash the new image?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app

Check out the OP in this thread from the Nexus 5 forums: http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...image-t2513701. Although it's for the N5, it is pretty much the exact same procedure for the the Nexus 7 (2013) (and Nexus 10). Basically, you'll need to install the ADB/Fastboot drivers to make sure your device is detected properly while in the Bootloader. Then, you can just flash the factory image. You can use Method 1 in the OP of that thread. MAKE SURE YOU DOWNLOAD THE CORRECT FACTORY IMAGE. You can find the latest factory image here: https://developers.google.com/android/nexus/images. The WiFi only model is "razor," while the LTE model is "razorg."
The Following User Says Thank You to charesa39 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Ok so I flashed version 4.4.4 onto my device, and it seems to be working perfectly, but how can I root it to intsall other roms? I couldnt find anything on rooting 4.4.4, so is it too new?
5th July 2014, 12:06 AM   |  #6  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra_Saucy

Ok so I flashed version 4.4.4 onto my device, and it seems to be working perfectly, but how can I root it to intsall other roms? I couldnt find anything on rooting 4.4.4, so is it too new?

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6k4rCaMPSQ8

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Paranoid Android 4.4.4 using XDA premium 4 mobile app
5th July 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Ok so I have Ben using my nexus 7 for about a fday after I flashed the stock ROM, and it started acting up again ( I didn't root it). It crashed, and then would not boot. Should I try to reflash the stock ROM again, or is there a hardware problem?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app
5th July 2014, 07:50 PM   |  #8  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra_Saucy

Ok so I have Ben using my nexus 7 for about a fday after I flashed the stock ROM, and it started acting up again ( I didn't root it). It crashed, and then would not boot. Should I try to reflash the stock ROM again, or is there a hardware problem?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app

Confirm you have the right image and try flashing again. Make sure to wipe dalvik and cache too.

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Paranoid Android 4.4.4 using XDA premium 4 mobile app
5th July 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
How do I wipe the dalvik cache? Also, I used the image from googles Dev site, and I am sure it is the right one.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes