Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,395 Members 47,016 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Nexus 7 2013 not booting

Tip us?
 
Ultra_Saucy
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default [Q] Nexus 7 2013 not booting

So I just bought a nexus 7 off of amazon(used). When I first turned it on, I got the google logo, and it stayed on until I held the power button. It then was blank, and then the google logo showed for about 10 seconds, and then it goes blank, 10 seconds, then blank, ect. unless I go into the bootloader.(it might be worth mentioning that the little unlocked lock icon appears under the google logo.) After I got into the bootloader, I shut the device down and waited for a while(maybe 15 minutes). Then i tried to reboot, and it successfully booted. However, before i could get into the settings to check what version of android it was running, it reboot and got stuck at the google logo again. Is it possible to fix this, or is there a hardware problem? Thanks.
 
charesa39
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 401
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Orange County, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra_Saucy View Post
So I just bought a nexus 7 off of amazon(used). When I first turned it on, I got the google logo, and it stayed on until I held the power button. It then was blank, and then the google logo showed for about 10 seconds, and then it goes blank, 10 seconds, then blank, ect. unless I go into the bootloader.(it might be worth mentioning that the little unlocked lock icon appears under the google logo.) After I got into the bootloader, I shut the device down and waited for a while(maybe 15 minutes). Then i tried to reboot, and it successfully booted. However, before i could get into the settings to check what version of android it was running, it reboot and got stuck at the google logo again. Is it possible to fix this, or is there a hardware problem? Thanks.
Have you tried flashing the factory image yet? If I ever bought a used Nexus device, even if it were functional, flashing the factory image would be the very first thing I would do. You never know what the previous owner may have flashed onto it, which is evident by the fact that he/she had already unlocked it. I would say since it's already unlocked, just flash the latest factory image and to make double sure, boot into recovery after flashing and "wipe data/factory data reset." It's a good sign that it at least boots, but you won't know until flashing the factory image.
 
Ultra_Saucy
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
OK, so what is the best way to flash the new image?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app
 
charesa39
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 401
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Orange County, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra_Saucy View Post
OK, so what is the best way to flash the new image?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app
Check out the OP in this thread from the Nexus 5 forums: http://forum.xda-developers.com/goog...image-t2513701. Although it's for the N5, it is pretty much the exact same procedure for the the Nexus 7 (2013) (and Nexus 10). Basically, you'll need to install the ADB/Fastboot drivers to make sure your device is detected properly while in the Bootloader. Then, you can just flash the factory image. You can use Method 1 in the OP of that thread. MAKE SURE YOU DOWNLOAD THE CORRECT FACTORY IMAGE. You can find the latest factory image here: https://developers.google.com/android/nexus/images. The WiFi only model is "razor," while the LTE model is "razorg."
The Following User Says Thank You to charesa39 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ultra_Saucy
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Ok so I flashed version 4.4.4 onto my device, and it seems to be working perfectly, but how can I root it to intsall other roms? I couldnt find anything on rooting 4.4.4, so is it too new?
 
LinearEquation
Old
#6  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 1,683
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Midwest

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra_Saucy View Post
Ok so I flashed version 4.4.4 onto my device, and it seems to be working perfectly, but how can I root it to intsall other roms? I couldnt find anything on rooting 4.4.4, so is it too new?
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6k4rCaMPSQ8

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Paranoid Android 4.4.4 using XDA premium 4 mobile app
[ROOT] 2013 KFHD7 Soho firmware 11.x.x.x (no camera)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...44736&page=101 If needed contact @GranPC for an updated Firerooter.
[Root] 2012 KFHD7 Tate http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1886460
2nd [Bootloader]/[TWRP] KFHD7 Tate
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2128848
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2271909
KFHD7 Tate System Restore Tool http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1951254
 
Ultra_Saucy
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Ok so I have Ben using my nexus 7 for about a fday after I flashed the stock ROM, and it started acting up again ( I didn't root it). It crashed, and then would not boot. Should I try to reflash the stock ROM again, or is there a hardware problem?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app
 
LinearEquation
Old
#8  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 1,683
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Midwest

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultra_Saucy View Post
Ok so I have Ben using my nexus 7 for about a fday after I flashed the stock ROM, and it started acting up again ( I didn't root it). It crashed, and then would not boot. Should I try to reflash the stock ROM again, or is there a hardware problem?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app
Confirm you have the right image and try flashing again. Make sure to wipe dalvik and cache too.

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Paranoid Android 4.4.4 using XDA premium 4 mobile app
[ROOT] 2013 KFHD7 Soho firmware 11.x.x.x (no camera)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...44736&page=101 If needed contact @GranPC for an updated Firerooter.
[Root] 2012 KFHD7 Tate http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1886460
2nd [Bootloader]/[TWRP] KFHD7 Tate
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2128848
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2271909
KFHD7 Tate System Restore Tool http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1951254
 
Ultra_Saucy
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
How do I wipe the dalvik cache? Also, I used the image from googles Dev site, and I am sure it is the right one.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more