Vikaura Screen: Use Your Android to Customize Your World

Vikaura is another hot Kickstarter item building momentum online. This time the idea … more

Neon’s Colors Theme For Android L

This CyanogenMod 12 theme by XDA Recognized Themernitinvaidbrings some really nice looking colors to … more

Galaxy Note Edge Panel Themes

Follow this link to find themes from your favorite sports teams, video games, companies, and more for your lock … more

Official MEGA Layers Overlays Collection

The Layers Overlays is getting more popular every day and is a nice alternative to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Snappy enough?

OP t0p8uzz

27th July 2014, 01:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 5
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Got hold a 2013 model (16GB/WIFI), I've put Purity ROM which I believe is running stock kernel. I must admit, I was expecting it to be a little bit snappier, not sure if I am being too harsh on it, having used a Nexus 5 every day since release day. I've uploaded a quick video, does it look about right?

27th July 2014, 02:48 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 116
 
936 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Looks fine to me. What is the problem?
27th July 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #3  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 428
 
1,756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0p8uzz

Got hold a 2013 model (16GB/WIFI), I've put Purity ROM which I believe is running stock kernel. I must admit, I was expecting it to be a little bit snappier, not sure if I am being too harsh on it, having used a Nexus 5 every day since release day. I've uploaded a quick video, does it look about right?

Looks fine to me. You can try cutting back on the animations a bit or adding a custom kernel like ElementalX if you want a bit of a boost.

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Paranoid Android 4.4.4 using XDA premium 4 mobile app
28th July 2014, 12:18 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 5
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinearEquation

Looks fine to me. You can try cutting back on the animations a bit or adding a custom kernel like ElementalX if you want a bit of a boost.

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Paranoid Android 4.4.4 using XDA premium 4 mobile app

How can I cut back on the animation properly? When i dropped the transitions to .5 in dev mode, my screen went mental and start going red etc
28th July 2014, 04:16 PM   |  #5  
AarSyl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 782
 
1,934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Keep in mind that the Nexus 5 is a different processor. The N5 has a Snapdragon 800 while the N7.2 has a Snapdragon 600.

But aside from that...the tab is moving just fine.
29th July 2014, 05:51 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag istanbul
Thanks Meter: 105
 
465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AarSyl

Keep in mind that the Nexus 5 is a different processor. The N5 has a Snapdragon 800 while the N7.2 has a Snapdragon 600.

But aside from that...the tab is moving just fine.

The CPU difference should not to be seen from the video as it is only showing the UI and app opening experiences. During those times, mostly either the CPU is jumping what's most close higher to 800MHz or GPU is kicking one step up. Either way, running some UI elements or opening app animations on 60 FPS is not forcing neither of the Socs to their max frequencies (I am talking about Snapdragon S600 and S800).

I have watched the video very carefully under different resolutions to make sure of the snappiness. The only part that seems like under 30 FPS is where "app drawer" is called. But that's only because it's a bad animation trick. The best way to make sure the UI is running at (or above) 60FPS is to see how "recent apps" are fading away when "clear recents" button is pressed or scroll up and down thgouth mails (SMSs if it's a phone).

And also enabling "force GPU rendering" and "sdisable hardware overlays" options under develper options will certainly help.
29th July 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #7  
mdamaged's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South of Heaven
Thanks Meter: 1,105
 
1,720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Yeah, seems about right, you can probably get some more snap out of it by using a kernel that will let you boost the clock a bit. The N7 can at least be boosted to 1.7ghz without even trying, and 2.0 is not unheard of.
29th July 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 5
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Thanks for the confirmation fellas ...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes