Post Reply

[Q] F2FS question

OP waywardsojourner

25th August 2014, 01:46 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I'm sorry if this has been asked, but I have looked and am not able to post in the developer thread yet. I've got everything up and running on my N7 with f2fs, but I'm curious now if I update my ROM do I have to go through all the steps again? Do I always need to format data at the end and lose everything? Should I be using titanium backup to solve this? Hopefully someone can help me out.
25th August 2014, 03:45 PM   |  #2  
PrizmaticSmoke's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by waywardsojourner

I'm sorry if this has been asked, but I have looked and am not able to post in the developer thread yet. I've got everything up and running on my N7 with f2fs, but I'm curious now if I update my ROM do I have to go through all the steps again? Do I always need to format data at the end and lose everything? Should I be using titanium backup to solve this? Hopefully someone can help me out.

If everything is up and running on F2FS already, you can flash and restore titanium backups as normal. You just now have to make sure the ROM and/or kernel you're flashing supports F2FS or has been converted to support F2FS.
Last edited by PrizmaticSmoke; 25th August 2014 at 04:05 PM. Reason: Edit: spelling
The Following User Says Thank You to PrizmaticSmoke For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 03:57 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrizmaticSmoke

If everything is up and running on F2FS already, you can flash and restore titanium backups as normal. You just now have to make sure the ROM and/or kernel you're flashing supports F2FS or has been converted to support F2F2.

Thanks for the info!
28th August 2014, 10:42 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrizmaticSmoke

If everything is up and running on F2FS already, you can flash and restore titanium backups as normal. You just now have to make sure the ROM and/or kernel you're flashing supports F2FS or has been converted to support F2FS.

I am already on Carbon Rom All-F2FS, should I switch to another F2FS rom, what wipes are necessary? And should I format my tab again to all F2FS?
28th August 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 140
 
474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonhan

I am already on Carbon Rom All-F2FS, should I switch to another F2FS rom, what wipes are necessary? And should I format my tab again to all F2FS?

Just do a normal clean flash like you would if you were still on ext4. No need to reformat. That's how i switched to Carbon. As far as nightlies on Carbon (or others), just dirty flash them. I've had no problems doing that.
The Following User Says Thank You to adrman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank