OP franciscofranco

16th October 2011, 03:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 89,212

15,833 posts
Donate to Me
More
I've written many new kernel threads, so I'll just try to make this one simple, easy and light to read.

So, let me give you a little background on me: most of you don't know me as I only bought this device few days ago, but I'm a kernel dev for two other phones, the LG P500 and the Ideos X5. Worked on both .32 and .35 trees and my works became very popular, which can be seen by following the links in my signature - specially in the P500 community.

There are plenty of kernels to choose already, so why release another one? Simply because what I have to offer none of the other kernels had. What do I bring? Performance. How do I achieve that? Check the changelog and you'll understand...but not yet, lemme finish!

I have to say this: this kernel is based on KalimochoAz sources, so every changes up to his last pushed sources it's his job, so credits to him, I take no credit from his job.

I didn't start this kernel project for recognition or anything like that, I just want to share what I did for myself, maybe someone will find it useful

So let's get started, below you'll see what I changed on top of KalimochoAz source:

8th December
* Deep_idle code deleted, and re-added. Everything is exactly as Ezekeel has in his kernel, this might, or might not help with the data loss and whatever. If you still have problems please consider disabling deep_idle and see if it helps
* Deep_idle is off by default - changeable with NStools
* Calibrate.c reverted back to the .35 implementation
* Updated CRC32 library to the latest implementation directly from its creator
* Fsync disabling code deleted and re-implemented with a different implementation

4th December
Too many changes, so I'll be just brief and simple:
* CFS autogroup tweaks
* CFS optimizations