Thread Closed

[KERNEL] Nexus S Trinity Max 1.1/Vmax 1.2 Kernel - 2/10/2011

OP morfic

7th January 2011, 08:27 PM   |  #331  
morfic's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 13,007
 
7,202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlevy73

What voltage are you using for 1.4ghz?

0.2V more than stock (1GHz).

Some devices would run it at .15V more than stock, but a lot more devices would not.
With nightshift the last days, i had no time to work on improving this, with some time, it *MAY* be possible, no promises.
Last edited by morfic; 7th January 2011 at 08:29 PM.
7th January 2011, 08:30 PM   |  #332  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1,305
 
9,264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by morfic

0.2V more than stock.

Thanks. Any chance you'll make a CFS version of 1.4ghz kernel in the future. Would be much appreciated.

Edit: I agree the boost in voltage, while working the chip harder, will provide more stability.
7th January 2011, 08:34 PM   |  #333  
morfic's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 13,007
 
7,202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlevy73

Thanks. Any chance you'll make a CFS version of 1.4ghz kernel in the future. Would be much appreciated.

Edit: I agree the boost in voltage, while working the chip harder, will provide more stability.

Vibrant runs at .05V less just as well, but with the scores being so much lower, maybe gets worked less hard. so dropping back those .05V would still be my goal, at least i would like to try it.
7th January 2011, 08:44 PM   |  #334  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1,305
 
9,264 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by morfic

Vibrant runs at .05V less just as well, but with the scores being so much lower, maybe gets worked less hard. so dropping back those .05V would still be my goal, at least i would like to try it.

Can't hurt that's for sure. Wonder why the difference between the Vibrant and the S considering their virtually the exact same chip (if not exactly the same). Anyway, crashing and burning is half the fun of development.
7th January 2011, 09:05 PM   |  #335  
morfic's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 13,007
 
7,202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlevy73

Can't hurt that's for sure. Wonder why the difference between the Vibrant and the S considering their virtually the exact same chip (if not exactly the same). Anyway, crashing and burning is half the fun of development.

Think about you and your desktop.

You overclock to 4ghz. Happy as can be. Playing single threaded games all day long.

You sell it to a friend. But he does not game much, instead he converts videos with multi threaded apps. Then 2 days in, he calls you a liar and a cheat and wants his money back.


What happened? Your single threaded game never taxed the CPU much. A lot was done on gpu.

His apps used the CPU to the Max. And he crashed a lot.

This is what Intel and amd take advantage of in their Turbo core cpus.

If I peg only 3 cores my 1090T scales higher than when I build your kernel and peg all 6 cores.

Why did I go here? Compare 1.4ghz vibrant with 1.4ghz nexus s CPU scores.
I don't think we compare apples to apples. More efficient use of the CPU has to be involved, otherwise it wouldn't be very similar hardware.
7th January 2011, 10:25 PM   |  #336  
Junior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Bootloop with MoDaCo r3. Only on Trinity14, 13 is fine... could also be limit of hardware.
Last edited by XtremeKh; 7th January 2011 at 10:47 PM.
7th January 2011, 11:13 PM   |  #337  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I Dowloaded the latest update and t14 flashed and its just stuck at the boot screen. I've tried reflashing wiping everytging and still freezes. Is there any way to fix this?

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA App
7th January 2011, 11:37 PM   |  #338  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
quadrant went from 3156 to 3286........had a few boot loops when i flashed 14 but seems ok now........

EDIT: 14 is too unstable, going back to 13
7th January 2011, 11:55 PM   |  #339  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by willverduzco

If you revert back to 1.3 GHz v1.3, the problem goes away.

Not for me. Well I don't have the problems with the specific games but 1.3 was extremely buggy in general on my phone. Not surprised though.
8th January 2011, 12:19 AM   |  #340  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
help please:
I installed cm7 alpha 2(2) and then the 1.3 v1 kernel, but im stuck at the boot image, wont go further. I hear other people having this kernel working, what am I doing wrong?

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus S Android Development by ThreadRank