Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,281 Members 49,960 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[KERNEL] Nexus S Trinity Max 1.1/Vmax 1.2 Kernel - 2/10/2011

Tip us?
 
morfic
Old
(Last edited by morfic; 7th January 2011 at 08:29 PM.)
#331  
morfic's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 12,921
Posts: 7,178
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Antonio
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
What voltage are you using for 1.4ghz?
0.2V more than stock (1GHz).

Some devices would run it at .15V more than stock, but a lot more devices would not.
With nightshift the last days, i had no time to work on improving this, with some time, it *MAY* be possible, no promises.
Email me, i suck at replying to PMs.



Direct link to my GIT - http://www.bitbucket.org/morfic/
Direct link to my *old* GIT - http://morfic.euroskank.com/git/

twitter - @morfique
Talk to me on freenode's #trinitykernel
1KBSMtMTDSTr9XU23sYr9wZJBfb2RwpWnf

You may call me "gun powder"
 
jlevy73
Old
#332  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,284
Posts: 9,212
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by morfic View Post
0.2V more than stock.
Thanks. Any chance you'll make a CFS version of 1.4ghz kernel in the future. Would be much appreciated.

Edit: I agree the boost in voltage, while working the chip harder, will provide more stability.
 
morfic
Old
#333  
morfic's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 12,921
Posts: 7,178
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Antonio
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
Thanks. Any chance you'll make a CFS version of 1.4ghz kernel in the future. Would be much appreciated.

Edit: I agree the boost in voltage, while working the chip harder, will provide more stability.
Vibrant runs at .05V less just as well, but with the scores being so much lower, maybe gets worked less hard. so dropping back those .05V would still be my goal, at least i would like to try it.
Email me, i suck at replying to PMs.



Direct link to my GIT - http://www.bitbucket.org/morfic/
Direct link to my *old* GIT - http://morfic.euroskank.com/git/

twitter - @morfique
Talk to me on freenode's #trinitykernel
1KBSMtMTDSTr9XU23sYr9wZJBfb2RwpWnf

You may call me "gun powder"
 
jlevy73
Old
#334  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,284
Posts: 9,212
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by morfic View Post
Vibrant runs at .05V less just as well, but with the scores being so much lower, maybe gets worked less hard. so dropping back those .05V would still be my goal, at least i would like to try it.
Can't hurt that's for sure. Wonder why the difference between the Vibrant and the S considering their virtually the exact same chip (if not exactly the same). Anyway, crashing and burning is half the fun of development.
 
morfic
Old
#335  
morfic's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 12,921
Posts: 7,178
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Antonio
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
Can't hurt that's for sure. Wonder why the difference between the Vibrant and the S considering their virtually the exact same chip (if not exactly the same). Anyway, crashing and burning is half the fun of development.
Think about you and your desktop.

You overclock to 4ghz. Happy as can be. Playing single threaded games all day long.

You sell it to a friend. But he does not game much, instead he converts videos with multi threaded apps. Then 2 days in, he calls you a liar and a cheat and wants his money back.


What happened? Your single threaded game never taxed the CPU much. A lot was done on gpu.

His apps used the CPU to the Max. And he crashed a lot.

This is what Intel and amd take advantage of in their Turbo core cpus.

If I peg only 3 cores my 1090T scales higher than when I build your kernel and peg all 6 cores.

Why did I go here? Compare 1.4ghz vibrant with 1.4ghz nexus s CPU scores.
I don't think we compare apples to apples. More efficient use of the CPU has to be involved, otherwise it wouldn't be very similar hardware.
Email me, i suck at replying to PMs.



Direct link to my GIT - http://www.bitbucket.org/morfic/
Direct link to my *old* GIT - http://morfic.euroskank.com/git/

twitter - @morfique
Talk to me on freenode's #trinitykernel
1KBSMtMTDSTr9XU23sYr9wZJBfb2RwpWnf

You may call me "gun powder"
 
XtremeKh
Old
(Last edited by XtremeKh; 7th January 2011 at 10:47 PM.)
#336  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Bootloop with MoDaCo r3. Only on Trinity14, 13 is fine... could also be limit of hardware.
 
jthornton71707
Old
#337  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 459
Join Date: Apr 2010
I Dowloaded the latest update and t14 flashed and its just stuck at the boot screen. I've tried reflashing wiping everytging and still freezes. Is there any way to fix this?

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA App
 
aam6906
Old
#338  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 103
Join Date: Sep 2010
quadrant went from 3156 to 3286........had a few boot loops when i flashed 14 but seems ok now........

EDIT: 14 is too unstable, going back to 13
 
jonjon68
Old
#339  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 239
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by willverduzco View Post
If you revert back to 1.3 GHz v1.3, the problem goes away.
Not for me. Well I don't have the problems with the specific games but 1.3 was extremely buggy in general on my phone. Not surprised though.
 
helfone
Old
#340  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 206
Join Date: Dec 2009
help please:
I installed cm7 alpha 2(2) and then the 1.3 v1 kernel, but im stuck at the boot image, wont go further. I hear other people having this kernel working, what am I doing wrong?

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes