5,598,908 Members 30,716 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] [DEV] Insecure Boot Image for Nexus S on Android 4.1.1 Jelly Bean (JRO03E)

Tip us?
 
HQRaja
Old
(Last edited by HQRaja; 26th July 2012 at 08:26 PM.)
#1  
HQRaja's Avatar
Retired News Writer - OP
Thanks Meter 429
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Islamabad
Default [MOD] [DEV] Insecure Boot Image for Nexus S on Android 4.1.1 Jelly Bean (JRO03E)

Hello everyone,

This is my first mod/hack at this level, so I am extremely excited about it. Here's some history:
I flashed the JB OTA and then started missing using adb remount. I looked around for an insecure boot image but couldn't find a JB-based one. I looked into the OTA's zip file and didn't find boot.img there so at first, I thought JB used previous ICS 4.0.4's boot.img but upon looking into updater-script from the OTA's zip file, I saw the OTA patched the existing one rather than flashing a new one.

So long story short, I extracted it from the phone, unpacked it, set ro.secure=0, repacked it and tried booting it, and it worked, so I just flashed it and have been using it for a while now.

Note that this is not for everyone, and most will not even require it but for those who do, here it is. Enjoy, and don't forget to hit the Thanks button.

Download Nexus S Insecure Boot Image for Jelly Bean (Off-site link on my blog; I have also written a guide there for those interested in learning how to flash it but if you just want to download it, skip to the end of the post to find the download link.)
Regards,
Haroon Q. Raja.

Entrepreneur | Writer | Math Teacher | Web Developer | Technology Enthusiast
Retired News Writer at XDA Portal | Senior Editor at AddictiveTips | Founding Editor at HQTech
Visit my Website | Subscribe on Facebook | Follow on Twitter | Add me on Google+
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to HQRaja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Spidergio
Old
#2  
Spidergio's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 355
Join Date: Apr 2012
What is the insecure boot?

Sent from my nexus s using xda app
 
HQRaja
Old
#3  
HQRaja's Avatar
Retired News Writer - OP
Thanks Meter 429
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Islamabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidergio View Post
What is the insecure boot?

Sent from my nexus s using xda app
Insecure boot image lets you use adb remount, and adb push or adb pull etc. to /system and its contents. Basically it's using ADB as root. If you don't require it, I don't recommend going for it; it's just for those who really want the convenience of these commands.
Regards,
Haroon Q. Raja.

Entrepreneur | Writer | Math Teacher | Web Developer | Technology Enthusiast
Retired News Writer at XDA Portal | Senior Editor at AddictiveTips | Founding Editor at HQTech
Visit my Website | Subscribe on Facebook | Follow on Twitter | Add me on Google+
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to HQRaja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
medizen
Old
#4  
medizen's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2012
Do you happen to have a link that explains this process? I have found a couple but they never fully explained it in detail.
 
HQRaja
Old
#5  
HQRaja's Avatar
Retired News Writer - OP
Thanks Meter 429
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Islamabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by medizen View Post
Do you happen to have a link that explains this process? I have found a couple but they never fully explained it in detail.
The link provided in the OP aims to do that. =) If you need further information after reading through that, feel free to ask me here.
Regards,
Haroon Q. Raja.

Entrepreneur | Writer | Math Teacher | Web Developer | Technology Enthusiast
Retired News Writer at XDA Portal | Senior Editor at AddictiveTips | Founding Editor at HQTech
Visit my Website | Subscribe on Facebook | Follow on Twitter | Add me on Google+
The Following User Says Thank You to HQRaja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
elamalaka
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thanks just what I was looking for....works great!!
 
HQRaja
Old
#7  
HQRaja's Avatar
Retired News Writer - OP
Thanks Meter 429
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Islamabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by elamalaka View Post
Thanks just what I was looking for....works great!!
Glad it helped =)
Regards,
Haroon Q. Raja.

Entrepreneur | Writer | Math Teacher | Web Developer | Technology Enthusiast
Retired News Writer at XDA Portal | Senior Editor at AddictiveTips | Founding Editor at HQTech
Visit my Website | Subscribe on Facebook | Follow on Twitter | Add me on Google+
The Following User Says Thank You to HQRaja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
elamalaka
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by HQRaja View Post
Glad it helped =)

Two questions:

1) I'm running JROO3E is it still ok to use your boot.img or does my boot.img needs to be modified? (The reason why I asked is because I got two random reboots after flashed insecure).

2) File sizes of boot.img files are different. My boot.img is 8192 kb and your insecure is 3972 kb is that a problem?

Please advise.

Thanks!!
 
HQRaja
Old
#9  
HQRaja's Avatar
Retired News Writer - OP
Thanks Meter 429
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Islamabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by elamalaka View Post
Two questions:

1) I'm running JROO3E is it still ok to use your boot.img or does my boot.img needs to be modified? (The reason why I asked is because I got two random reboots after flashed insecure).

2) File sizes of boot.img files are different. My boot.img is 8192 kb and your insecure is 3972 kb is that a problem?

Please advise.

Thanks!!
1. This is the version for JRO03E (I had mistakenly typed JRO03H in the post), so it should work for yours. I am myself using it on mine, with no random reboot at all. Though as we all know, when it comes to these things, your mileage may vary. Not sure what's causing them though; you are on the international variant (soju / crespo) of Nexus S, right?

2. When you extract the boot image from the phone, it dumps the entire content of the boot partition, including the empty bytes. That's why the extracted one should be 8192 kb (or 8,388,608 bytes to be precise). Once it is unpacked, edited and repacked by the script, the empty bytes are removed when repacking. Therefore, the size of the repacked one is 3972 kb (or 4,067,328 bytes to be precise).

Hope it clears things up.
Regards,
Haroon Q. Raja.

Entrepreneur | Writer | Math Teacher | Web Developer | Technology Enthusiast
Retired News Writer at XDA Portal | Senior Editor at AddictiveTips | Founding Editor at HQTech
Visit my Website | Subscribe on Facebook | Follow on Twitter | Add me on Google+
The Following User Says Thank You to HQRaja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
elamalaka
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by HQRaja View Post
1. This is the version for JRO03E (I had mistakenly typed JRO03H in the post), so it should work for yours. I am myself using it on mine, with no random reboot at all. Though as we all know, when it comes to these things, your mileage may vary. Not sure what's causing them though; you are on the international variant (soju / crespo) of Nexus S, right?

2. When you extract the boot image from the phone, it dumps the entire content of the boot partition, including the empty bytes. That's why the extracted one should be 8192 kb (or 8,388,608 bytes to be precise). Once it is unpacked, edited and repacked by the script, the empty bytes are removed when repacking. Therefore, the size of the repacked one is 3972 kb (or 4,067,328 bytes to be precise).

Hope it clears things up.
Maybe the random reboot was the result of something else I did because I was testing a few apps from the market. I'm running the stock (sojua / crespoa) variant GT-I9020A. I tried to unpack/edit/repack my original boot.img but the repacked size of the file is 3964 kb and not 3972. When I try the fastboot boot <bootname.img> it says that fastboot was ok but it just hangs at the Google initial screen.

Can I send you my boot.img so that you can give it a try?

Thanks again for all your help!.

Tags
boot image, nexus s, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes