Post Reply

[ROM] [i9020/23] CyanogenMod 9 v4.0.4 v7.0 + CM Night builds

OP KalimochoAz

30th April 2012, 05:40 PM   |  #5211  
Netconn's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 3
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
This is the best my NS has ever worked.. Fast and no crashes at all!!! But there's two things I don't like, maybe they can be changed.
1. I would like the data arrows on the top that are now almost hidden in the signal.
2. When I use an app and close it on a page, then open it again later, it returns to last page i was on, not the starting page like it used to do...
I hope I'm making sense. I guess ICS changed the way apps work.
30th April 2012, 05:40 PM   |  #5212  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 37
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Settings for SetCPU if you need a performance and battery balance. Im using CM9 v7, Matr1x v19 cfs, latest gapps. Using a custom launcher with around 30 apps installed (all games and browsers..etc facebook, viber, angry birds...etc). wifi, 2g/3g on, deep idle off. Im at 50% right now with light use and thats awesome. 12 hrs already.

Main: 1000max 200min lulzactive, default values for governor and voltages.
Profile:
Screen off: 800max 200min interactivex Priority 60
Charging Any: 1460max 1200min performance Priority 50
Battery <20% 400max 200min interactivex Priority 40
Battery <50% 800max 200min interactivex Priority 30

You may want to stay away from using 100mhz during screen-off or screen-on states for three reasons 1) It seems 100 mhz uses more power than 200 mhz. According to tests, 100 mhz accounted to 1 W / GHz and 200 mhz to 0.7 W / GHz, when both the cores were online. 2) 200 mhz can finish same task faster compared 100 mhz and thus hit deep idle soon. 3) 200 mhz is the 'sweet spot' of frequency in SGS II. ie, the frequency used in the calculations based on the optimal energy to run (Ex: In Milestone it's 550 MHz). So , 'energetically efficient' frequency for our CPU is 200 mhz.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1369817

Anyone else have their preferred settings? Do put in mind that all phones are different and none are the same. This may work verywell for me but it may be completely different for you. Use Safemode in SetCPU help page http://www.setcpu.com/documentation.html#safe_mode. Also make a nandroid back up. I highly encourage you to play around with these settings to get the best out of your phone. BUT ONLY IF you do a nandroid back up and untick set on boot. Oh and there is no way you can really fck this up (mind the language) if you have nandroid backup, untick set on boot, safemode via SetCPU Page. If you get bootloops on a unstable frequency/voltage, just reflash your rom via recovery.

Safe Mode

If you're trying out new CPU speeds on an overclocked kernel or trying out new voltage settings, it's always a good idea to uncheck the Set on Boot checkboxes in the corresponding menus before doing so. This way, your phone will not boot loop if you get stuck on an unstable CPU frequency or voltage. To be safe, you can extract a Safe Mode update.zip to your SD card in the Main tab. Access the menu here, and press Safe Mode Instructions to do this. Flash the setcpu_safemode_toggle.zip file in recovery mode as a normal update.zip to recover if SetCPU causes your device to boot loop. Flash the zip again to toggle safe mode off. Alternatively, you can make a file called setcpu_safemode with no extension and place it on your SD card or internal storage, /data, or /data/local to active safe mode.

If you didn't get a chance to extract the safe mode zip, download the safe mode update.zip here. Flash it in recovery mode just like any other update.zip.

http://www.setcpu.com/documentation.html#safe_mode
Last edited by TigaTiger; 30th April 2012 at 05:47 PM.
30th April 2012, 07:22 PM   |  #5213  
mattia.b89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag varese
Thanks Meter: 23
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChargingPaladin

Here you go: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=17587351

Note: when you get to the step where it mentions ".nv_data.bin"; on the NS there's no '.' in front, so just "nv_data.bin"

Otherwise see thread for more info.

Sent from my Nexus (IC)S

ok, i'll read the topic.

CM9 wasn't my first ICS, infact before flash CM9 i flashed official ICS 4.0.3 for getting the latest bootloader/radio.

and i haven't specified before, but my IMEI isn't corrupted or changed to 00xxx
30th April 2012, 07:30 PM   |  #5214  
DarkhShadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Essex
Thanks Meter: 278
 
1,798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattia.b89

ok, i'll read the topic.

CM9 wasn't my first ICS, infact before flash CM9 i flashed official ICS 4.0.3 for getting the latest bootloader/radio.

and i haven't specified before, but my IMEI isn't corrupted or changed to 00xxx

Then your EFS is fine don't touch it!

Unless your IMEI goes to 00xxx ignore anything in the log, it doesn't matter

Sent from my ice cream powered Nexus S
30th April 2012, 07:45 PM   |  #5215  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
624 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigaTiger

Settings for SetCPU if you need a performance and battery balance. Im using CM9 v7, Matr1x v19 cfs, latest gapps. Using a custom launcher with around 30 apps installed (all games and browsers..etc facebook, viber, angry birds...etc). wifi, 2g/3g on, deep idle off. Im at 50% right now with light use and thats awesome. 12 hrs already.

Main: 1000max 200min lulzactive, default values for governor and voltages.
Profile:
Screen off: 800max 200min interactivex Priority 60
Charging Any: 1460max 1200min performance Priority 50
Battery <20% 400max 200min interactivex Priority 40
Battery <50% 800max 200min interactivex Priority 30

You may want to stay away from using 100mhz during screen-off or screen-on states for three reasons 1) It seems 100 mhz uses more power than 200 mhz. According to tests, 100 mhz accounted to 1 W / GHz and 200 mhz to 0.7 W / GHz, when both the cores were online. 2) 200 mhz can finish same task faster compared 100 mhz and thus hit deep idle soon. 3) 200 mhz is the 'sweet spot' of frequency in SGS II. ie, the frequency used in the calculations based on the optimal energy to run (Ex: In Milestone it's 550 MHz). So , 'energetically efficient' frequency for our CPU is 200 mhz.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1369817

Anyone else have their preferred settings? Do put in mind that all phones are different and none are the same. This may work verywell for me but it may be completely different for you. Use Safemode in SetCPU help page http://www.setcpu.com/documentation.html#safe_mode. Also make a nandroid back up. I highly encourage you to play around with these settings to get the best out of your phone. BUT ONLY IF you do a nandroid back up and untick set on boot. Oh and there is no way you can really fck this up (mind the language) if you have nandroid backup, untick set on boot, safemode via SetCPU Page. If you get bootloops on a unstable frequency/voltage, just reflash your rom via recovery.

Safe Mode

If you're trying out new CPU speeds on an overclocked kernel or trying out new voltage settings, it's always a good idea to uncheck the Set on Boot checkboxes in the corresponding menus before doing so. This way, your phone will not boot loop if you get stuck on an unstable CPU frequency or voltage. To be safe, you can extract a Safe Mode update.zip to your SD card in the Main tab. Access the menu here, and press Safe Mode Instructions to do this. Flash the setcpu_safemode_toggle.zip file in recovery mode as a normal update.zip to recover if SetCPU causes your device to boot loop. Flash the zip again to toggle safe mode off. Alternatively, you can make a file called setcpu_safemode with no extension and place it on your SD card or internal storage, /data, or /data/local to active safe mode.

If you didn't get a chance to extract the safe mode zip, download the safe mode update.zip here. Flash it in recovery mode just like any other update.zip.

http://www.setcpu.com/documentation.html#safe_mode

Our phone is not dualcore and does not uses the same soc the sgs2 uses
30th April 2012, 08:45 PM   |  #5216  
mattia.b89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag varese
Thanks Meter: 23
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkhShadow

Then your EFS is fine don't touch it!

Unless your IMEI goes to 00xxx ignore anything in the log, it doesn't matter

Sent from my ice cream powered Nexus S

yesyes, this is the rule,

but i'm curious and want to know more ....
30th April 2012, 08:52 PM   |  #5217  
DarkhShadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Essex
Thanks Meter: 278
 
1,798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattia.b89

yesyes, this is the rule,

but i'm curious and want to know more ....

Well android detected the nv_data.bin wasn't right so it restored a backup
If the backup is gone/broken itself then it restores a generic imei

Sent from my ARCHOS 80G9 using XDA Premium HD app
30th April 2012, 10:47 PM   |  #5218  
oliver2ooi's Avatar
Senior Member
Paris
Thanks Meter: 14
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Unhappy
Is this a common issue?
Blue signal bar on Wi-Fi
Gray signal bar on 3G

It started four or five days ago. I tried reflashing gapps, ROM, both or just one but I still get gray bar when on data. Is it my network provider ?
When on data, sync doesn't seem to work perfectly like push from Gmail. Last ROM I flashed and currently using is nightly 20120427 and 20120429 gapps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-04-30-23-37-51.jpg
Views:	407
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	1033406   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-04-30-23-42-20.jpg
Views:	397
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	1033411  
1st May 2012, 01:17 AM   |  #5219  
Paragon_X's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 29
 
451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Is there any inherit problem if I use nstools over setcpu spy to change my governor settings?
1st May 2012, 02:07 AM   |  #5220  
cpaixao's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sete Lagoas
Thanks Meter: 111
 
505 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oliver2ooi

Is this a common issue?
Blue signal bar on Wi-Fi
Gray signal bar on 3G

It started four or five days ago. I tried reflashing gapps, ROM, both or just one but I still get gray bar when on data. Is it my network provider ?
When on data, sync doesn't seem to work perfectly like push from Gmail. Last ROM I flashed and currently using is nightly 20120427 and 20120429 gapps

BE sure you're not using any 3th part data limiter as firewalls, etc. The grey color says data is connected, but somehow limited (protocols, address, ips etc)

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus S Android Development by ThreadRank