Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

(GUIDE) Broken Power Button??No problem...

OP al_madd

1st March 2012, 10:32 AM   |  #1  
al_madd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
1,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Yes..I have nexus s with broken power button....Is it my nexus now useless??I now just throw away my nexus??

No....No...No..



1.How I gonna root my nexus with broken power button???

Go to this thread..

(ROOT) Any version of android (kernel exploit)

Download the script..Run it..

Go to market..install Superuser..
Install ROM Manager- Flash CWM..
Yes..You just Root your nexus with CWM Recovery...Congratulation



2.How I gonna enter Recovery mode??

Just Download Quick Boot

Here you go....Flash!Flash!Flash!


3.Eventhough I can root it..But my power button's have lost...How I gonna make my nexus screen off..

That easy..

just download Screen Off and Lock

Put it on your home..just tap it to power off..


Or

If you want make it more easy..

Just remap you power button to search button..

Download button remapper

Now your search button will have power button function except wake the phone..



4.Great..Now How I want to wake my phone with broken power button??

Easy..with ICS already in our nexus..

Go to Settings-Security-Screen Lock-None

Now you just wake your phone just by pressing power button..


5. Can I take screenshot with broken power button but without paid screenshot apps??

Yes.. If you already remap your search(or which button do you like) as power button..Me remap search button as power button..

Just volume down+ search button...


6. How to flash using recovery..

Move up and down using volume button..select using search button..

or if you want more easy...flash Touch Clockwork Mod Recovery 5.0.8.2


7.If my nexus have to pull battery or battery die..How I going to power on it???

All you have to do is plug in the phone to an AC charger, and the phone should come on.

Sometimes, however, it will show the boot logo, then go to a screen showing you your battery percentage, and not actually boot. No problem. Just pull the battery and unplug. Replace the battery, and while holding the "x" button on your keyboard, plug the phone back in .

If not working..

plug you nexus to USB cable..then restart your pc/laptop without unplugged your nexus..it will power on automatically...





Or if not working...refer to this thread.
Credit

Simms22
orkillakilla
Brainmaster
xian1243
rrohanjs
Application Dev
XDA community...
Last edited by al_madd; 24th March 2012 at 03:06 PM.
The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to al_madd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2012, 01:12 PM   |  #2  
Oogway13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose
Thanks Meter: 82
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Niceeee, will keep it handy...never know what could happen :)
1st March 2012, 05:30 PM   |  #3  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,474
 
26,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by al_madd

Yes..I have nexus s with broken power button....Is it my nexus now useless??I now just throw away my nexus??

No....No...No..



1.How I gonna root my nexus with broken power button???

Go to this thread..

(ROOT) Any version of android (kernel exploit)

Download the script..Run it..

Go to market..install Superuser..
Install ROM Manager- Flash CWM..
Yes..You just Root your nexus with CWM Recovery...Congratulation



2.How I gonna enter Recovery mode??

Just Download Quick Boot

Here you go....Flash!Flash!Flash!


3.Eventhough I can root it..But my power button's have lost...How I gonna make my nexus screen off..

That easy..

just download Screen Off and Lock

Put it on your home..just tap it to power off..


Or

If you want make it more easy..

Just remap you power button to search button..

Download button remapper

Now your search button will have power button function except wake the phone..



4.Great..Now How I want to wake my phone with broken power button??

Easy..with ICS already in our nexus..

Go to Settings-Security-Screen Lock-None

Now you just wake your phone just by pressing power button..


5. Can I take screenshot with broken power button but without paid screenshot apps??

Yes.. If you already remap your search(or which button do you like) as power button..Me remap search button as power button..

Just volume down+ search button...


6. How to flash using recovery..

Move up and down using volume button..select using search button..

or if you want more easy...flash Touch Clockwork Mod Recovery 5.0.8.2


7.If my nexus have to pull battery or battery die..How I going to power on it???

All you have to do is plug in the phone to an AC charger, and the phone should come on.

Sometimes, however, it will show the boot logo, then go to a screen showing you your battery percentage, and not actually boot. No problem. Just pull the battery and unplug. Replace the battery, and while holding the "x" button on your keyboard, plug the phone back in .

If not working..

plug you nexus to USB cable..then restart your pc/laptop without unplugged your nexus..it will power on automatically...






Credit

Simms22
orkillakilla
Brainmaster
xian1243
Application Dev
XDA community...

awesome post!
1st March 2012, 07:05 PM   |  #4  
caleb1783's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 19
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
wow... cool stuff... thanks! but when it comes to this, i rather get galaxy nexus... lol... hope it wont happen anytime soon though...

Sent via Divinus Nexus S...
2nd March 2012, 06:02 AM   |  #5  
al_madd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
1,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by caleb1783

wow... cool stuff... thanks! but when it comes to this, i rather get galaxy nexus... lol... hope it wont happen anytime soon though...

Sent via Divinus Nexus S...

Yes..even right now you have gnex and then your nexus s power button broken..

You can still use you nexus s..which is right now warranty of your nexus s already expired and if you want to sell. Who want to buy phone with single core and broken power button with high price?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
2nd March 2012, 07:59 AM   |  #6  
gtuansdiamm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 473
 
2,931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
My uncle gave me his broken iPhone 3g
The power button and home button didn't work on that but I already jail broke it before so it was all good
It took forever to find a button remaping app on cydia
I ended up having vol up then vol down as home and the reverse as screen off screen on

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
2nd March 2012, 02:27 PM   |  #7  
ljordan2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in South Korea
Thanks Meter: 172
 
734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Subscribed. Since I may need this later. I still have a bit more than a year for my contract to end

Sent from my Nexus S from Tapatalk
2nd March 2012, 03:19 PM   |  #8  
HAKA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moradabad
Thanks Meter: 2,207
 
1,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
Good post. I'd prefer sending it back to Samsung.

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium
Last edited by HAKA; 2nd March 2012 at 03:21 PM.
2nd March 2012, 03:54 PM   |  #9  
al_madd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
1,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HAKA

Good post. I'd prefer sending it back to Samsung.

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium

my nexus is I9020T bought in Perth...I studying in Indonesia..samsung center do not have spare part for I9020T because official Nexus S in Southern Asia is I9023...


And I already try googling about the prices..will cost around 80-100USD to fix it..


They only solution is if you still have warranty..
3rd March 2012, 08:59 AM   |  #10  
Romonster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I need some help with remapping power button to search button.
The button remapper app don't show my search button. How do i do it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-03-03-13-22-50.jpg
Views:	1273
Size:	15.6 KB
ID:	929321  

The Following User Says Thank You to Romonster For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes