Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] Proper FULL wipe

OP obsanity

24th December 2011, 01:21 AM   |  #1  
obsanity's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 435
 
1,767 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I know this is not a development thread but I must insist we have something like this in this area. I would ask a mod to keep this sticky or maybe link to it from another sticky thread. I feel it's important to all development for accurate results and debug information.

I see this all the time. People think they are fully wiping when a developer asks for it. I believe that some people still don't understand what a full wipe is because there is no such single option in ClockWorkMod Recovery. Most likely the reason for that is because Koush didn't want too many posts about "I'm stuck on Google logo" or "my phone won't boot". So here is a test you can do yourself: Backup your ROM of course, and then do a full wipe. Then don't install anything and just reboot. If you end up pass the Google logo and onto the boot loop screen, then what you think is a full wipe is incorrect. If you are stuck on the Google logo and nothing is happening however, then congratulations... you know what you're doing

For the rest of you, here are proper steps to fully wipe without leaving any trace of ROM on your phone:


  • wipe data/factory reset
  • format /system
  • format /boot


Now most people think that the first option is enough. That may often be the case but because the developer can drastically change the contents of the /system folder, things can get messed up if you don't format it. And guess what, that first option will not do it. Wipe data/factory reset only wipes the /data folder which contains your personal settings and all the apps you installed. The ROM is then left blank as if you just flashed it and you can start over. FYI, the format of boot partition simply wipes the boot animation and you can restore it using the advance option in recovery from ROM to another.

I've seen some zip files which do this automatically so that's fine but at least you know what needs to be done to fully wipe.


There you go. I hope this clears some things. Now lets flash some ROMs!
Last edited by obsanity; 26th October 2012 at 12:29 AM.
The Following 43 Users Say Thank You to obsanity For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th December 2011, 01:39 AM   |  #2  
scott420's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Menasha,Wisconsin
Thanks Meter: 65
 
420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Thank you

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using XDA App
24th December 2011, 03:34 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Sticky please!
The Following User Says Thank You to rrem For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th December 2011, 04:42 AM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Omaha
Thanks Meter: 8
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I follow the above wipe method for my Epic Touch 4G,SGSII, with the exception of flashing Calkulins Format All.zip at the very end and i havent experienced any issues yet. Hope i didnt just jinx myself...
24th December 2011, 05:28 AM   |  #5  
gear.h34d.2012's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Simple, yet I'm sure beginners miss it. I also vote for a sticky.
24th December 2011, 08:17 AM   |  #6  
kdepro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 22
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Isn't the dalvik cache stored in the /data partition?

Hence, factory reset necessarily wipes dalvik but wipe dalvik only wipes the dalvik portion of the data partition?

Sent from my Sammy Nexus 4G using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to kdepro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th December 2011, 08:24 AM   |  #7  
genaro12543's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
all we need is a zip that does all of that and were good!!

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using XDA App
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to genaro12543 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th December 2011, 11:40 AM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 128
 
2,452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
no need to wipe when restoring?
24th December 2011, 12:23 PM   |  #9  
Shark_On_Land's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, Cali
Thanks Meter: 73
 
798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Or use amonRA. Best recovery yet.

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk
24th December 2011, 05:06 PM   |  #10  
jesusice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,038
 
3,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by donsh00tmesanta

no need to wipe when restoring?

Nope, restoring will format each partition before it restores it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes