FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] Proper FULL wipe

1,896 posts
Thanks Meter: 476
 
By obsanity, Senior Member on 24th December 2011, 01:21 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
26th December 2011, 11:35 PM |#21  
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 364
 
Donate to Me
More
Any rom worth a dam will have the system and boot wipe in the script.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G
The Following User Says Thank You to bwcorvus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bwcorvus Ad-Free
 
 
27th December 2011, 01:37 AM |#22  
obsanity's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwcorvus

Any rom worth a dam will have the system and boot wipe in the script.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G

You'll be surprised
27th December 2011, 03:31 PM |#23  
Junior Member
Flag Pensacola, FL
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
In the past I have always performed these steps in this order:

wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition
in advanced: wipe dalvik cache
in mounts and storage: format /system /data /cache /boot

vs

wipe data/factory reset
format /system
format /boot

Have I been duplicating processes that are accomplished with just these three steps? How important is the order of the steps?
27th December 2011, 04:11 PM |#24  
obsanity's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameswerk

In the past I have always performed these steps in this order:

wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition
in advanced: wipe dalvik cache
in mounts and storage: format /system /data /cache /boot

vs

wipe data/factory reset
format /system
format /boot

Have I been duplicating processes that are accomplished with just these three steps? How important is the order of the steps?

Yes you have been. Cache and dalvik are wiped during the factory reset option. The order of these steps are important but what you've been doing so far is correct outside the duplicated steps.
The Following User Says Thank You to obsanity For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift obsanity Ad-Free
30th December 2011, 09:24 PM |#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
does the ROM Manager app perform these steps before flashing a new ROM?
30th December 2011, 09:41 PM |#26  
obsanity's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00Hensley

does the ROM Manager app perform these steps before flashing a new ROM?

No not by default. Its up to the developer of the ROM to clean what they think should be cleaned. However, many, including CyanogenMod do not. I actually believe its bad practice since this step doesn't need to be performed unless you are beta testing roms.
2nd January 2012, 07:00 AM |#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Can someone guide me where to start looking for how to flash a rom? Newb with andriod os.
7th January 2012, 04:58 AM |#28  
climhz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hanoi
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
you should add this to OP:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...41&postcount=1

no need to change recovery.
All credits to snandlal
The Following User Says Thank You to climhz For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift climhz Ad-Free
7th January 2012, 12:49 PM |#29  
decalex's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 1,457
 
Donate to Me
More
This should totally be in Development. Lol.

•°NS4G • ICS°•
7th January 2012, 03:51 PM |#30  
obsanity's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by decalex

This should totally be in Development. Lol.

•°NS4G • ICS°•

Yeah AllGamer moved it and said it was "common knowledge". All I can do is keep it in my signature.
7th January 2012, 06:10 PM |#31  
gardirulez's Avatar
Member
Flag Reggio Emilia
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks! Very useful ^^
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes