Android One Devices Get Unofficial CM12 Port

Android One was initially announced right before Android Lollipop. By releasing these cheap, yet … more

WhatsApp Decides to Protect Your Data

When Facebook bought WhatsApp for the absurdly large sum of $19bn back in February, they took the tech … more

Bring Back LTE on the Google Nexus 4 Running Lollipop

One of the predecessors of the latest, largest, and greatest Gooogle Nexus 6(theGoogle … more

Google Maps, My Maps, YouTube, Androidify, Slides, Music Updated–Here’s What’s New

In the last few weeks, Google has been … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nexus not getting update directly from Google?

OP gogol

10th December 2010, 07:48 AM   |  #1  
gogol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
3,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
What's this?

http://phandroid.com/2010/12/09/nexu...-2-2-1-update/

I thought that Nexus phone will ALWAYS get update directly from Google?

So, if you buy from T-Mobile, there is a chance you need to wait from T-Mobile as well?

I don't get it.

NOTE: Before people shouting that this should be put specifically to the Nexus One forum. I think this is still valid information for us, who will buy Nexus S just because of the Google experience, like the old Nexus One. Hoping to get first update directly from Google when Google releases any new update. Apparently, that might NOT be the case! Well, hope NOT *finger crossed* ...
Last edited by gogol; 10th December 2010 at 01:41 PM.
10th December 2010, 07:52 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 439
 
1,485 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
I cant speak for the rest of the world but US customers always get their updates directly from Google.

I have a Nexus One right now and have gotten 3 over the air updates directly from Google.
10th December 2010, 07:56 AM   |  #3  
greenstuffs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palma, Spain
Thanks Meter: 206
 
1,705 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogol

What's this?

http://phandroid.com/2010/12/09/nexu...-2-2-1-update/

I thought that Nexus phone will ALWAYS get update directly from Google?

So, if you buy from T-Mobile, there is a chance you need to wait from T-Mobile as well?

I don't get it.

you can always root the phone and load the stock built from google. But being an android enthusiast i rarely do OTA as you lose root and have to wait, i rather wait for devs to build new roms or optimize the official roms.
10th December 2010, 08:03 AM   |  #4  
slowz3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Malmstrom AFB, MT
Thanks Meter: 100
 
2,331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Regardless if the Update is pushed from Google or pushed from Samsung it will be the First phone to get it, quite possible along with the N1 so what does it matter?
10th December 2010, 08:06 AM   |  #5  
tekkitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 29
 
1,053 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowz3r

Regardless if the Update is pushed from Google or pushed from Samsung it will be the First phone to get it, quite possible along with the N1 so what does it matter?

It matters with future updates ;)
10th December 2010, 08:12 AM   |  #6  
slowz3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Malmstrom AFB, MT
Thanks Meter: 100
 
2,331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekkitan

It matters with future updates ;)

Im pretty sure Google can handle the software and OTA's on their own, they did well enough with the N1
10th December 2010, 08:19 AM   |  #7  
tekkitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland
Thanks Meter: 29
 
1,053 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowz3r

Im pretty sure Google can handle the software and OTA's on their own, they did well enough with the N1

I didn't say they couldn't. I prefer Google handles them because I am still sitting here with a Fascinate running 2.1
10th December 2010, 10:41 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Vodafone had a different build of Android for the phones they directly sold, I believe. No massive changes, but the update process is in their hands for their N1s

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
10th December 2010, 11:43 AM   |  #9  
Rusty!'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Portsmouth
Thanks Meter: 1,770
 
7,973 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
You are correct, they only released FRG83D yesterday!
JupiterDroid
10th December 2010, 11:53 AM   |  #10  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Why is this on the nexus s forum? There is a nexus one forum you know

JD

Sent from my Desire Z Beast!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes