Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,077 Members 37,710 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Ns4g international use

Tip us?
 
mikerowes69
Old
#1  
mikerowes69's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 148
Join Date: Jun 2011
Question Ns4g international use

Has anyone used their NS4G phone outside the country for calls, txting or data?

I believe I can make calls using wifi but never have before unless at a comp using GV, and then it send the call to me marked as private. Is there another way of doing this with GV on your phone?

So tell me your story and what you had to do or how much it cost you?
 
BrianDigital
Old
#2  
BrianDigital's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 309
Posts: 2,794
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

 
DONATE TO ME
Groove IP should work for over wifi, if your cell number is integrated with Google voice though, I believe it won't work. I could be wrong but when Sprint started to allow this I called in and asked about which international rates applied they told me sprints rates not the super low Google voice rates

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to BrianDigital For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BrianDigital
Old
#3  
BrianDigital's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 309
Posts: 2,794
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

 
DONATE TO ME
Also reply is implying to will be using wifi,

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to BrianDigital For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
donnieace
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 58
Join Date: Aug 2011
GrooveIP works well overseas using a wifi connection. You will also get your GV texts on the GV app as long as you have a wifi or a mobile data connection.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to donnieace For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
superm1
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 162
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
You can roam in some countries too. You have to contact Sprint to turn on international data roaming if you want it though.

Last time I went to China I turned it on just in case an emergency came up that I needed to make a call or was lost and desperately needed data.
The Following User Says Thank You to superm1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mstevens
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 273
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Hampshire and Cozumel
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerowes69 View Post
Has anyone used their NS4G phone outside the country for calls, txting or data?
Sure. I use mine in Canada all the time. Sprint's Canada Roaming Option is cheap and everything works fine.

I've used it in Mexico but it costs an absolute fortune.
Motorola Photon 4G
Google Nexus S 4G
Viewsonic g-Tablet

Casa Suzana, vacation rental house in Cozumel, Mexico
Tags
cdma, international, nexus s, ns4g
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes