No registration required
Thread Closed

Probably the smoothest/best ROM.

OP OnlySkills

30th June 2013, 03:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9

92 posts
Helly Bean 4.1.2 with a Marmite kernel is what I have been running for the past 2 months.

Stock 4.1.2 lags. So in February, I went to:
-->4.2.2 has lag and a lot of stuff I do not like (lock screen swipe camera, slow lock/unlock, alarm, camera UI).

So I went to 4.1.2 (Marmite kernel):
--> CM 10 is slow, and lags
--> Slim Bean 4.1.2 is great! But the battery is horrendous
--> Helly Bean 4.1.2, just about perfect. Good battery life (although I don't like it, it's probably the best the Nexus S can do). Great performance and features.

One app I think aids in my current performance is Greenify. It has great reviews, and is probably also contributing to my phone's experience.

If you are trying to find the smoothest/fast/good battery life/reliable/best ROM combo, try out: Helly Bean 4.1.2 + Marmite kernel + Greenify.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to OnlySkills For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2013, 01:03 PM   |  #2  
Thanks Meter: 10

100 posts
Hi guy, I'm testing your advice. What type of Marmite kernel should I use ? I've downloaded "marmite_v8.7cm_bigmem", is that good ? Thanks by advance
30th June 2013, 01:21 PM   |  #3  
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 208

660 posts
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartmanotfat

Hi guy, I'm testing your advice. What type of Marmite kernel should I use ? I've downloaded "marmite_v8.7cm_bigmem", is that good ? Thanks by advance

Yes it's the best for Nexus S the cm or cm bigmemorie are cool, they work well with all cm based 4.1 roms. When I miss 4.1's stability I either go back to blackBean 6 or Slim rom 3.1 is the latest 4.1 slim rom (BB6 is non-cm so use the latest simple Marmite kernel, slim 4.1 versions are cm). Helly is one of the best but I can't live without renaming the Carrier lalbel, or 3g & sd card speed hacks
30th June 2013, 02:08 PM   |  #4