5,600,182 Members 39,344 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Probably the smoothest/best ROM.

Tip us?

OnlySkills
Old
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Default Probably the smoothest/best ROM.

Helly Bean 4.1.2 with a Marmite kernel is what I have been running for the past 2 months.

Stock 4.1.2 lags. So in February, I went to:
-->4.2.2 has lag and a lot of stuff I do not like (lock screen swipe camera, slow lock/unlock, alarm, camera UI).

So I went to 4.1.2 (Marmite kernel):
--> CM 10 is slow, and lags
--> Slim Bean 4.1.2 is great! But the battery is horrendous
--> Helly Bean 4.1.2, just about perfect. Good battery life (although I don't like it, it's probably the best the Nexus S can do). Great performance and features.

One app I think aids in my current performance is Greenify. It has great reviews, and is probably also contributing to my phone's experience.

If you are trying to find the smoothest/fast/good battery life/reliable/best ROM combo, try out: Helly Bean 4.1.2 + Marmite kernel + Greenify.
Nexus 4 - 16GB Black, Purity 4.4.2, Franco Kernel
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to OnlySkills For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]

cartmanotfat
Old
Thanks Meter 10
Hi guy, I'm testing your advice. What type of Marmite kernel should I use ? I've downloaded "marmite_v8.7cm_bigmem", is that good ? Thanks by advance
HTC Desire GSM S-OFF
HP Touchpad 32Go
ROM : Never the same because I'm a flashmaniac

dark'em
Old
Thanks Meter 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartmanotfat View Post
Hi guy, I'm testing your advice. What type of Marmite kernel should I use ? I've downloaded "marmite_v8.7cm_bigmem", is that good ? Thanks by advance