Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Does GPS work on your NS?
Yes and it's fast. 23 45.10%
Yes but it's slow. 9 17.65%
No 19 37.25%
Voters: 51. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

Do you have problem with your GPS?

OP raeef

16th December 2010, 06:57 PM   |  #1  
raeef's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amman
Thanks Meter: 7
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I got the phone at 8 am today, it's a great phone ( till now) . I tried to use the GPS many times ( I turned off assisted location and just kept the GPS). At my window where I used to get around 6-7 satellite with MT4G , I am getting 0 , nothing in the view. When I got out and tried in the street, while standing I got 2 sat only. So I think there is a problem with the antenna. Any tips to verify if it's really defected or something else, I read about some folks getting locking in few seconds and with 7-11 Sats.

Update: After few hours, GPS started to work just fine. I don't know why but now it's very fast and pretty accurate.
Last edited by raeef; 16th December 2010 at 08:36 PM.
16th December 2010, 07:00 PM   |  #2  
TheBiles's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corpus Christi, TX
Thanks Meter: 161
 
3,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I opened Google Maps 5 and it instantly was locked on me. No complaints there!

Oh ****. I realized I voted "no" because I thought the poll question was the topic title. D'oh.
Last edited by TheBiles; 16th December 2010 at 08:11 PM.
16th December 2010, 07:04 PM   |  #3  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palo Alto
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Ok... My GPS wasn't working for like. Since I got it. But now suddenly, 5 hours later, after I pulled the battery multiple times, and then ran the GPS Test app for 5 minutes, I'm getting locks.

-_-
16th December 2010, 07:08 PM   |  #4  
AdamHart612's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 45
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Works like a champ for me. In fact back to back my Evo and NS seem to be getting a lock at about the same speed, fast.
16th December 2010, 07:13 PM   |  #5  
raeef's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amman
Thanks Meter: 7
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderdroid

Ok... My GPS wasn't working for like. Since I got it. But now suddenly, 5 hours later, after I pulled the battery multiple times, and then ran the GPS Test app for 5 minutes, I'm getting locks.

-_-

I will try any crazy steps :d But I don't want to return it, so I hope it works. I like the phone but I love GPS
16th December 2010, 07:30 PM   |  #6  
raeef's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amman
Thanks Meter: 7
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Now this is weird. It started working now I will test it more and see what happens.
16th December 2010, 08:02 PM   |  #7  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palo Alto
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raeef

Now this is weird. It started working now I will test it more and see what happens.

Exactly. I thought mine was borked for good for sure. But no. After quite a few reboots and battery pulls it's working epicly... As is Acquiring Location (wireless location).

Sigh!
16th December 2010, 08:34 PM   |  #8  
raeef's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amman
Thanks Meter: 7
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderdroid

Exactly. I thought mine was borked for good for sure. But no. After quite a few reboots and battery pulls it's working epicly... As is Acquiring Location (wireless location).

Sigh!

I tried now , it locks very very fast and accuracy reached 5 m while walking. This strange, maybe it had to do with the antennas and the back cover? I don't know but now I am happy
16th December 2010, 08:37 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
It looks like the small handful of people who reported issues with the GPS are no longer having anymore issues. Very good news. If the GPS really is fixed, then I'll definitely be buying a Nexus S when the 2nd shipment comes in.

I'll basically be trading my AT&T 3G for a working GPS. Hopefully I won't regret that decision.
16th December 2010, 08:43 PM   |  #10  
Androidfreakz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Yea I used my GPS too get home and it locked in with in about 5 to 7 seconds.

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes