Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,530 Members 42,358 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] [Alpha] Boot2Gecko/Firefox OS - Nexus S [08/24/2014]

Tip us?
 
lissyx
Old
#121  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 217
Posts: 157
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tours
I just rebuilt a new ROM with updated gecko and gaia. Video is quite good, thumbnailing somehow works, yet there are still crashes with video, sometimes (if you stop it without pausing for example).

Stuff for fastboot flashing available at https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B1U1...9Jel9OR2M/edit
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lissyx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
baklawa
Old
#122  
baklawa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toulouse
Quote:
Originally Posted by lissyx View Post
I just rebuilt a new ROM with updated gecko and gaia. Video is quite good, thumbnailing somehow works, yet there are still crashes with video, sometimes (if you stop it without pausing for example).

Stuff for fastboot flashing available at https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B1U1...9Jel9OR2M/edit
The best ROM so far. Video is really good, Gaia, the user interface has been updated and scales better than the previous versions.
The Following User Says Thank You to baklawa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sendhiloo7
Old
#123  
sendhiloo7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 295
Posts: 960
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chennai
any way to make onscreen navigation keys or re map the hardware in keys..

I am really interest to play this boy in my gnex.. I already synced from source.

Please help on this

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
Regards

Senthil Kumar
 
lissyx
Old
#124  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 217
Posts: 157
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tours
Quote:
Originally Posted by sendhiloo7 View Post
any way to make onscreen navigation keys or re map the hardware in keys..

I am really interest to play this boy in my gnex.. I already synced from source.

Please help on this

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
I don't understand what you mean.
 
baklawa
Old
#125  
baklawa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toulouse
Quote:
Originally Posted by lissyx View Post
I don't understand what you mean.
He means that the Galaxy Nexus does not have any hardware key therefore he cannot use the ROM if the keys cannot be emulated through software keys
The Following User Says Thank You to baklawa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sendhiloo7
Old
#126  
sendhiloo7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 295
Posts: 960
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chennai
Quote:
Originally Posted by baklawa View Post
He means that the Galaxy Nexus does not have any hardware key therefore he cannot use the ROM if the keys cannot be emulated through software keys

l




Quote:
Originally Posted by lissyx View Post
I don't understand what you mean.
sorry for bad English. what baklava said is correct



Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
Regards

Senthil Kumar
 
baklawa
Old
#127  
baklawa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toulouse
Quote:
Originally Posted by sendhiloo7 View Post
sorry for bad English. what baklava said is correct



Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
You should have a look at this thread (home remapped to volume button)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1805282
The Following User Says Thank You to baklawa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lissyx
Old
#128  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 217
Posts: 157
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tours
Quote:
Originally Posted by baklawa View Post
He means that the Galaxy Nexus does not have any hardware key therefore he cannot use the ROM if the keys cannot be emulated through software keys
I'm sorry but I still don't figure what this really means. There is only a Home button to be needed, because it's the only one mandatory in specs for devices (see Geeksphones Developper Phones, ...).

But I don't understand the part if the keys cannot be emulated through softwares keys . Which keys ? What emulation are you talking about ?

Btw, if you receive MMS, the current code is somehow still broken and you can use a little workaround to get a working SMS app:

Code:
diff --git a/dom/mobilemessage/src/ril/MobileMessageDatabaseService.js b/dom/mobilemessage/src/ril/MobileMessageDatabaseService.js
index 4818e69..7b14395 100644
--- a/dom/mobilemessage/src/ril/MobileMessageDatabaseService.js
+++ b/dom/mobilemessage/src/ril/MobileMessageDatabaseService.js
@@ -611,6 +611,23 @@ MobileMessageDatabaseService.prototype = {
           });
         }
       }
+
+      aMessageRecord.receiver = aMessageRecord.receivers[0];
+      aMessageRecord.messageClass = "normal";
+      aMessageRecord.delivery = "received";
+      aMessageRecord.body = "MMS payload: " + JSON.stringify(aMessageRecord.headers["x-mms-content-location"]);
+
+      return gMobileMessageService.createSmsMessage(aMessageRecord.id,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.threadId,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.delivery,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.deliveryStatus,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.sender,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.receiver,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.body,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.messageClass,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.timestamp,
+                                                    aMessageRecord.read);
+      /*
       return gMobileMessageService.createMmsMessage(aMessageRecord.id,
                                                     aMessageRecord.threadId,
                                                     aMessageRecord.delivery,
@@ -622,6 +639,7 @@ MobileMessageDatabaseService.prototype = {
                                                     subject,
                                                     smil,
                                                     attachments);
+      */
     }
   },
 
doublec
Old
#129  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lissyx View Post
I'm sorry but I still don't figure what this really means. There is only a Home button to be needed, because it's the only one mandatory in specs for devices (see Geeksphones Developper Phones, ...).
The Galaxy Nexus doesn't have any hardware buttons - they are emulated in software. Because of this there is no 'Home' key that is registered by Firefox OS making the Nexus a hard device to use with Firefox OS. I don't know if the 'Nexus' build has a workaround for this.
 
lissyx
Old
#130  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 217
Posts: 157
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tours
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublec View Post
The Galaxy Nexus doesn't have any hardware buttons - they are emulated in software. Because of this there is no 'Home' key that is registered by Firefox OS making the Nexus a hard device to use with Firefox OS. I don't know if the 'Nexus' build has a workaround for this.
Please forgive my dumbness, but how are those buttons differents form the Nexus S one ? Looking at pictures of Galaxy Nexus, I do see a couple of buttons: back, home, etc. Would the difference be that the Galaxy Nexus buttons are just a part of the touchscreen ?

Tags
b2g, boot2gecko, firefoxos, nexus s, nexuss
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes