Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,029 Members 43,513 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[UPDATE 18/05/13][GUIDE] Spoof WIFI Mac address in Android

Tip us?
 
devgee
Old
(Last edited by devgee; 18th May 2013 at 03:06 PM.)
#1  
devgee's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 473
Join Date: Dec 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [UPDATE 18/05/13][GUIDE] Spoof WIFI Mac address in Android

[UPDATE 18/05/13]
HOW TO SPOOF YOUR MAC ADDRESS IN ANDROID




UPDATE 18/05/2013
App (4.0 and above only ) : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...385577&page=14
DONT FORGET TO THANK HIM !

30/04/2013
App (4.0 and above only ) : http://www.mediafire.com/?qapodo05oc1im06
It is based on the command: busybox ifconfig*eth0/wlan0* hw ether

Thanx to hotsync for this app !



REQUIREMENTS

1) ROOTED PHONE
2) BUSYBOX INSTALLED
3) Terminal App


OPEN UP TERMINAL AND WRITE

:su
:busybox iplink show eth0

(THIS WILL SHOW YOUR CURRENT MAC ADDRESS)

NOW TYPE IN

:busybox ifconfig eth0 hw ether 00:11:22:33:44:55

(INSTEAD OF 00:11:22:33:44:55, YOU CAN WRITE YOUR WANTED ADDRESS)




CONGRATULATION, YOU HAVE SUCCESSFULLY SPOOFED YOUR MAC ADDRESS!

YOU CAN CHECK YOUR MAC ADDRESS BY TYPING

:busybox iplink show eth0


PS: I CANT GUARANTEE YOU, IF THIS WORKS . BUT IT SHOULD WORK IF YOU GOT BUSYBOX INSTALLED.


(I HAVE TESTED THIS ON THE NEXUS S AND THE GALAXY S2

HTC AND LG DEVICES IS ALSO SAID TO BE WORKING!
)
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to devgee For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Moritzio
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 92
Join Date: Nov 2008
Why would you want to do this?
The Following User Says Thank You to Moritzio For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kyouko
Old
#3  
kyouko's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 251
Posts: 1,083
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: IL/WI border
On some routers you can limit connections to only allow specific mac addresses - this would let you connect without needing to add permissions. possibly at work or a friend's house?
Im not familiar with any use unless you're using backtrack, but that's a whole different topic
Greed is for amateurs
 
mustafaayubkhan
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2011
I am getting no such device....
 
agent0105
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustafaayubkhan View Post
I am getting no such device....
Same problem
Any solution to this? I am running optimus 2 X with cm7
 
B-Digital
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2011
the 0 in eth0 is zero, maybe thats the issue

busybox ifconfig will list your devices, i didnt have eth0 (ethernet 0) i had wlan0 (wireless lan 0)

try

busybox ifconfig wlan0 hw ether 00:11:22:33:44:55
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to B-Digital For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alexturry
Old
#7  
alexturry's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Biella
Thanks, I was looking for this..
On GS2 it changes my MAC, however I canít connect to any wifi network! It always say that the password is wrong.
Can I ask you what rom are you using?
Thanks in advance.
 
devgee
Old
#8  
devgee's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 473
Join Date: Dec 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I had the same problem, but then i realized that the router was the issue. I found out that this works with router without password and frequency b and g , n does not support
Hope this helped !

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to devgee For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alexturry
Old
#9  
alexturry's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Biella
I see, I was suspecting something like that.
Thanks mate.
 
allenxx
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 46
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vaughan
could anyone explain how do you get the wifi password out of the ip address? i am a newb to this thing, and i would love to use school network or public

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes