Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more
Post Reply

ADB Offline and no access to bootloader

OP andrei1015

23rd February 2013, 09:27 PM   |  #1  
andrei1015's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 76
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
A few days ago I've tried using ADB but it said my device is offline. Earlier I tried ADB over network. Again, it said my phone is offline. So I wanted to see if I can get ADB access from the bootloader. Surprize: I can't get into the bootloader. If I turn my phone off and press Volume Down + Power, it just boots.

Now, my phone is working good, I just wanted adb access to do that darn EFS backup. And what's up with that "can't get into bootloader" stuff? I did it fine and dandy when I rooted my phone..

EDIT: well, since I can not do the backup the normal way, I just downloaded the efs folder as a zip. and dev/block/. Is it as effective as the normal way?
Last edited by andrei1015; 23rd February 2013 at 10:43 PM.
24th February 2013, 12:50 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 38
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrei1015

A few days ago I've tried using ADB but it said my device is offline. Earlier I tried ADB over network. Again, it said my phone is offline. So I wanted to see if I can get ADB access from the bootloader. Surprize: I can't get into the bootloader. If I turn my phone off and press Volume Down + Power, it just boots.

Now, my phone is working good, I just wanted adb access to do that darn EFS backup. And what's up with that "can't get into bootloader" stuff? I did it fine and dandy when I rooted my phone..

EDIT: well, since I can not do the backup the normal way, I just downloaded the efs folder as a zip. and dev/block/. Is it as effective as the normal way?

It is Vol-Up + Power for bootloader. And you can't have adb access in bootloader mode. Only fastboot access.
24th February 2013, 03:24 PM   |  #3  
andrei1015's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 76
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Re: ADB Offline and no access to bootloader
Ok but why isn't adb working? Why does it always say it's offline?

Sent from my Google Nexus S
24th February 2013, 05:15 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 38
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrei1015

Ok but why isn't adb working? Why does it always say it's offline?

Sent from my Google Nexus S

It could be that you installed some software/driver that overrides a working USB driver.

Try install Google USB driver from Android SDK Tools.
  1. Install Android SDK Tools
  2. When SDK Manager runs, select Google USB Driver, see attached pic
  3. If missed, run SDK Manager again as Administrator

Also, make sure you turn on Developer options and "check" Andoid (USB) debugging option in Developer options setup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sdk-manager.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	1757294   Click image for larger version

Name:	sdk-manager-admin.png
Views:	40
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	1757295   Click image for larger version

Name:	Android Debugging Screenshot_2013-02-24-12-16-01.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	1757312  
Last edited by _android_; 24th February 2013 at 05:19 PM.
24th February 2013, 06:10 PM   |  #5  
andrei1015's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 76
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _android_

It could be that you installed some software/driver that overrides a working USB driver.

Try install Google USB driver from Android SDK Tools.

  1. Install Android SDK Tools
  2. When SDK Manager runs, select Google USB Driver, see attached pic
  3. If missed, run SDK Manager again as Administrator

Also, make sure you turn on Developer options and "check" Andoid (USB) debugging option in Developer options setup.

Yup, I have all of the above.. Still offline >.<
24th February 2013, 06:53 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 38
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrei1015

Yup, I have all of the above.. Still offline >.<

Do you have the Samsung Galaxy Nexus ADB interface showing in your device manager?

Try uninstall and reload again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Adb Nexus interface.png
Views:	38
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	1757557  
Last edited by _android_; 24th February 2013 at 07:02 PM.
25th February 2013, 05:25 PM   |  #7  
andrei1015's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 76
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Almost = https://dl.dropbox.com/1/view/xiulpm...013_192328.png
Still it says offline.

(thank you for trying to help me )
26th February 2013, 07:42 PM   |  #8  
andrei1015's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 76
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
In fastboot mode it looks like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kflg4USSUAQEDxlq8mjW1TgA8FdeCBFPimDYfV-8sjc.png
Views:	50
Size:	8.3 KB
ID:	1763428  
27th February 2013, 02:14 PM   |  #9  
andrei1015's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 76
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
just tested at work and it says "device" instead of "offline" which is good I think. The only difference is that at work I installed the SDK long after I got it at home and it has a slightly different folder structure and it also comes with eclipse.
27th February 2013, 07:50 PM   |  #10  
andrei1015's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 76
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Resolved. Downloaded the new SDK with ADT from the android site and it works. Please forgive me for posting so many times. Can someone please delete this thread?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes