Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Exclamation [Q] No data connection on my Nexus S

23rd February 2014, 10:09 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
So one day, my Nexus S randomly decided not to have a data connection with my carrier (Wind Mobile) anymore.
Wifi works, mobile data does not.

Steps I did to try and fix this:
1) make sure APN address is correct, which it is.
2) turn airplane mode on and off
3) toggle carrier connection on and off
4) factory wipe phone and reinstall ROM (slimkat)
5) factory wipe phone and install a different ROM (AOSP)
6) flash new radio (KB3 and KB1)

Other things I tried:
1) tried my SIM card with another phone (Blackberry Curve), data connection seems to work fine on that phone.
2) Called Wind Mobile and asked them to reset their towers to my phone... all they did was remove the Blackberry security thingy
that I had with them when I was still using a Blackberry. Rebooted my Nexus S, tried again... still no data.

So... I'm at my wit's end, and I have no clue how to fix this. Any ideas? I've found a couple similar threads for this problem... non of which had a solution to mine.
23rd February 2014, 04:37 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
I remembered I made a backup nandroid a little while ago... and I restored it.
Voila, everything works again. But as soon as I tried reflashing to my preferred ROM (Slimkat), the problems started up again.
I also forgot to add that before I started encountering problems, my phone froze and I had reset by doing a battery pull because it wouldn't respond to any key presses. I'm guessing it corrupted something, though I'm not sure what. I've diagnosed that this is not a hardware issue, and that it's purely software... I'm not sure why the problem comes back when I reflash to another ROM. I'll keep you guys posted.
25th February 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
One other thing worth noting is that when I have Slimkat installed, it doesn't seem to read off my SIM card properly.
The APN doesn't get named "Wind DATA" like it usually does when I install a different ROM on there; it just gets named "Internet".
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes