Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,444 Members 43,187 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bricked Device

Tip us?

nexuspb
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default Bricked Device

Hey,

I'm quite new to this. Anyways, I found an old Nexus S lying around in my house. My brother claimed he tried to put a custom rom on it years ago and it bricked.

I was wondering if it is unbrickable, i've been searching for countless hours and no luck.

The phone doesn't turn on.
It isn't recognized by the computer when i plug it in. (i might not have the drivers idk)
It heats up if I attempt to charge it.

I don't know if it is possible to unbrick ?

RemeCA
Old
Thanks Meter 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexuspb View Post
Hey,

I'm quite new to this. Anyways, I found an old Nexus S lying around in my house. My brother claimed he tried to put a custom rom on it years ago and it bricked.

I was wondering if it is unbrickable, i've been searching for countless hours and no luck.

It isn't recognized by the computer when i plug it in. (i might not have the drivers idk)

How hot does it get when you charge it? It should get pretty warm, but not hot to the touch. If the battery is still good, try using Wugfresh's Nexus Root Tool (google it, can't post outside links yet), that will let you do anything you need without having to manually use ADB or flash through recovery. It will walk you through installing the correct drivers the first time you run it, then do Flash Stock + Unroot from the main screen, with the soft-bricked/bootloop option selected. Follow the prompts, it will download all the stock ROMs and stuff and install them for you. If that doesn't work, it might be irreversibly bricked.

smit.sanghavi
Old
Thanks Meter 114
Quote:
Hey,

One possible test is that if the soft key buttons light up at all, it is not yet bricked.
Get some logs from here before spamming threads with "It doesn't work !!!"

nexuspb
Old