Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

[Q] custom ROM boot problem!

OP goodzcrool

17th April 2012, 04:54 PM   |  #1  
goodzcrool's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Hey everyone,

I'm a new-by to the tech world. I have a "google nexus s" running on ICS 4.0.4, I recently rooted my phone, flashed clockworkmod recovery and tried to install CM9 on my device. After the installation was completed through the clockworkmod, the boot image had showen up and continued to boot throughout the night and never showed up the home screen nor did the custom ROM open itself.
Can anyone give me a lil help as to about what this problem is or the reason why this is happening?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanx!
Last edited by goodzcrool; 17th April 2012 at 05:00 PM. Reason: type mistake
17th April 2012, 04:59 PM   |  #2  
Poriotis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 49
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Did you do a full wipe and cache wipe? My suggestion is to do that and reinstall. You could also try a different ROM.
17th April 2012, 05:03 PM   |  #3  
goodzcrool's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
But wouldnt I loose my phone data if I do that?

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium
17th April 2012, 05:27 PM   |  #4  
goodzcrool's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
i'm having the same problem for every ROM i try on my phone! what to do?
17th April 2012, 07:17 PM   |  #5  
anglergab's Avatar
Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 15
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
You have a bootloop, this appears because of kernel (boot.img) problems and/or inconsistent cache.
Please wipe/erase cache and Dalvik cache (this can be found in the Advanced menu). Wiping cache partition and Dalvik cache won't erase your personal data.
Make sure the previously flashed CM zip contained a boot.img file. If not, please flash a proper/recommended boot.img (kernel; which is in a zip file) or another rom (with boot.img).
17th April 2012, 09:31 PM   |  #6  
Icecoldmeat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Almelo
Thanks Meter: 111
 
723 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
When you flash a new rom over your stock.. first make a backup, then you need to wipe data, cache and dalvik cache..

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA app
20th April 2012, 10:38 AM   |  #7  
goodzcrool's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Got a backup and mods are running cool! Thanx for the help!

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes