5,595,268 Members 46,931 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] custom ROM boot problem!

Tip us?
 
goodzcrool
Old
(Last edited by goodzcrool; 17th April 2012 at 05:00 PM.) Reason: type mistake
#1  
goodzcrool's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2012
Question [Q] custom ROM boot problem!

Hey everyone,

I'm a new-by to the tech world. I have a "google nexus s" running on ICS 4.0.4, I recently rooted my phone, flashed clockworkmod recovery and tried to install CM9 on my device. After the installation was completed through the clockworkmod, the boot image had showen up and continued to boot throughout the night and never showed up the home screen nor did the custom ROM open itself.
Can anyone give me a lil help as to about what this problem is or the reason why this is happening?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanx!
 
Poriotis
Old
#2  
Poriotis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 225
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Did you do a full wipe and cache wipe? My suggestion is to do that and reinstall. You could also try a different ROM.
 
goodzcrool
Old
#3  
goodzcrool's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2012
But wouldnt I loose my phone data if I do that?

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium
 
goodzcrool
Old
#4  
goodzcrool's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2012
i'm having the same problem for every ROM i try on my phone! what to do?
 
anglergab
Old
#5  
anglergab's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 46
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Budapest
You have a bootloop, this appears because of kernel (boot.img) problems and/or inconsistent cache.
Please wipe/erase cache and Dalvik cache (this can be found in the Advanced menu). Wiping cache partition and Dalvik cache won't erase your personal data.
Make sure the previously flashed CM zip contained a boot.img file. If not, please flash a proper/recommended boot.img (kernel; which is in a zip file) or another rom (with boot.img).
 
Icecoldmeat
Old
#6  
Icecoldmeat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 723
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Almelo
When you flash a new rom over your stock.. first make a backup, then you need to wipe data, cache and dalvik cache..

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA app
Galaxy Nexus - MBQ's Xylon / franco.Kernel

Apple iPhone 5 - iOS 6.1.2 Evasi0n
 
goodzcrool
Old
#7  
goodzcrool's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2012
Got a backup and mods are running cool! Thanx for the help!

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...