Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Fastboot Recovery Issue (SOLVED)

OP Techno Droid

25th February 2012, 02:49 AM   |  #11  
Harbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 469
 
1,108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Have you, by any chance, tried pressing the Tab button to autocomplete the recovery filename?

for example:

fastboot flash recovery rec[TAB] --> autocompletes to recovery.img

I'm running out of ideas here
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Harbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 02:51 AM   |  #12  
Techno Droid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 38
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harbb

Have you, by any chance, tried pressing the Tab button to autocomplete the recovery filename?

for example:

fastboot flash recovery rec[TAB] --> autocompletes to recovery.img

I'm running out of ideas here

let me give this a tried
25th February 2012, 02:56 AM   |  #13  
Techno Droid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 38
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harbb

Have you, by any chance, tried pressing the Tab button to autocomplete the recovery filename?

for example:

fastboot flash recovery rec[TAB] --> autocompletes to recovery.img

I'm running out of ideas here

wow this did it for me... i dont understand bc i typed
fastboot flash recovery rec(tab)
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img.img and i hit enter and it flashed. weird. but thanks dude i greatly appreciate it for sticking it out with me.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Techno Droid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 03:01 AM   |  #14  
Harbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 469
 
1,108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Wonderful. You probably have "hide file extensions for known file types" checked. So when you downloaded the original, it ACTUALLY had a .img on the end of it already (which windows hid from you). Windows, unlike unix, cannot differentiate files based on their header, but instead relies on a useless extension in the file name of all places (ie, .img, .mp3 and .jpg at the end of the filename).

And noo problem mate, happy to help.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Harbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 03:05 AM   |  #15  
Techno Droid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 38
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
i flashed super user in cwm and it flashed ok. i reboot, go to the app drawer and its not there.... i did this twice.
25th February 2012, 03:09 AM   |  #16  
Techno Droid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 38
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techno Droid

i flashed super user in cwm and it flashed ok. i reboot, go to the app drawer and its not there.... i did this twice.

weird. i downloaded superuser from the their website and flashed. it didnt show. so i downloaded it from the market and tried running an app that requires su permission and it worked. am i missing something here? why did this work that way?
25th February 2012, 03:19 AM   |  #17  
Harbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 469
 
1,108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Flash this su.zip file. There was an older su version that automatically accepted any su access because it wasn't compatible with ICS yet.
The Following User Says Thank You to Harbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 03:21 AM   |  #18  
Techno Droid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 38
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
thanks. it feels good to finally be rooted. i was stock for 2 days.. lol thanks
9th September 2012, 02:02 PM   |  #19  
zcs72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
cannot load recovery.img
Thanks. the TAB autocomplete worked. I had forgotten about the additional file extension. gotta change that setting. Thanks again
The Following User Says Thank You to zcs72 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 01:19 PM   |  #20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harbb

Have you, by any chance, tried pressing the Tab button to autocomplete the recovery filename?

for example:

fastboot flash recovery rec[TAB] --> autocompletes to recovery.img

I'm running out of ideas here

wow, thanks man, you made my day, was about to throw the phone from anger. thanks a million man thank you.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
error, fastboot, nexus, recovery, s4g
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes