Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

[Q] Nexus s Root with broken power button

8th December 2012, 12:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

3 posts
Hi. I am new to android and trying to root my Google Nexus S which has a broken power button, so can't use the normal methods.
I have searched but cannot find a way of unlock and or rooting without the power button.

My question is that is it possible to root without the power button working? Can it be done through some terminal commands? I have tried the one click root for Nexus S and that did not work either.

Please help.

Thanks in advance.
8th December 2012, 12:59 AM   |  #2  
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 2,446

6,086 posts
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haze77

Hi. I am new to android and trying to root my Google Nexus S which has a broken power button, so can't use the normal methods.
I have searched but cannot find a way of unlock and or rooting without the power button.

My question is that is it possible to root without the power button working? Can it be done through some terminal commands? I have tried the one click root for Nexus S and that did not work either.

Please help.

Thanks in advance.

Depends on what Android version you are running. If it's Gingerbread, yes. Otherwise, no.
8th December 2012, 01:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

3 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by polobunny