FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

Nexus S won't go into recovery?

24 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By carolinaguy99, Junior Member on 25th March 2011, 02:37 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I am trying to unroot my nexus s. I can't get back into recovery mode at all. I get the android guy and a ! screen. trying over and over still gets me back to this screen...... what to do?
 
 
25th March 2011, 04:11 PM |#2  
ScotchtapeLoser's Avatar
Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Vol UP and POWER will take you to the bootloader.

fastboot boot clockworkrecovery.img

you should now be in clockwork recovery. It will revert back to stock on reboot, so you will need to mount system and rename the install-recovery.sh to install-recovery.old

I believe it is in the system/etc/

adb reboot bootloader

fastboot flash recovery clockworkrecovery.img (this will replace the stock recovery)
The Following User Says Thank You to ScotchtapeLoser For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2011, 03:06 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I dont have clockwork recovery on my device..... I kind of need a dumbed down walk though. I tried the unlokr's walkthrough and thats when I found my device won't go into recovery mode. It tries and then goes to the above mentioned screen.
26th March 2011, 04:48 AM |#4  
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 21,976
 
Donate to Me
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1000722 read through this long thread that I took a user to install Clockwork Recovery (or just look at the stickied thread in General in regards about rooting.. it includes flashing Clockwork)

this 7 page thread is dumbed down to the point where it cannot be dumbed down any more.
26th March 2011, 08:27 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If its still stock after you select recovery it will show you the image and then you have to hold even power and volume up again or just volume up I can't remember.

Sent from my Google Nexus S using Tapatalk
30th March 2011, 07:20 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
that thread helped me in no way shape or form......
31st March 2011, 12:54 AM |#7  
navlem's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 142
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carolinaguy99

I am trying to unroot my nexus s. I can't get back into recovery mode at all. I get the android guy and a ! screen. trying over and over still gets me back to this screen...... what to do?

If you can see that android with exclamation mark, i think you are already unrooted.
JupiterDroid
31st March 2011, 01:18 AM |#8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carolinaguy99

that thread helped me in no way shape or form......

You are unrooted and completely stock it sounds. If you want Clockwork installed you will have to unlock the bootloader, fastboot OEM unlock, then root or leave it unrooted

JD



Sent from my Google Black Neolithic Slab Of Wonderment S
31st March 2011, 01:59 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScotchtapeLoser

Vol UP and POWER will take you to the bootloader.

fastboot boot clockworkrecovery.img

you should now be in clockwork recovery. It will revert back to stock on reboot, so you will need to mount system and rename the install-recovery.sh to install-recovery.old

I believe it is in the system/etc/

adb reboot bootloader

fastboot flash recovery clockworkrecovery.img (this will replace the stock recovery)


yeah, but what if the user cant find the "install-recovery.sh" file? for instance my "etc" folder doesnt have that file and i'm rooted.
31st March 2011, 02:53 AM |#10  
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 21,976
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoobar

yeah, but what if the user cant find the "install-recovery.sh" file? for instance my "etc" folder doesnt have that file and i'm rooted.

then the stock recovery won't keep reinstalling itself and CWR will be default.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes