Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Returning to Stock

OP Rotellian

30th October 2012, 08:56 PM   |  #11  
aladin6's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
1,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by polobunny

It would be hard to call CM10 something related to stable (same for any CM10 base ROM). Even they don't call it that. That's why the nightly tag is for.

Other than "stable" "nightly" "RC" WORDS, CM10 is completely STABLE(at 99%). And i know what "stable" word means. Source: own experience .
30th October 2012, 09:24 PM   |  #12  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by polobunny

How did you root and unlock your phone then? Only way to do it needs an actual working connection with fasboot/adb. Even the 1 click crap uses that.

I guess nothing stops you from flashing 4.0.3 then going the upgrade route, but I don't see that as a very efficient nor a clean way to do it.

Managed to get ADB working on my old XP laptop, which i no longer have! :P Just tried to install it, and again the driver problem rears its ugly head. Just wont recognise the inf file! Like I said, dont really have the time, guess ill just have to flash to 4.0.3 and wait for the OTA Dont have the time to muck about trying to get the drivers working. Might give it one last bash with the SDK
30th October 2012, 09:26 PM   |  #13  
dirt's Avatar
Senior Member
SC
Thanks Meter: 937
 
1,380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotellian

Dont have the time to setup the computer for Fastboot, couldnt get it working with Win7 last time out either.

Returning to stock requires a computer. Official OTA updates will not install without the stock recovery.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk 2
30th October 2012, 09:36 PM   |  #14  
polobunny's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 2,480
 
6,180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aladin6

Other than "stable" "nightly" "RC" WORDS, CM10 is completely STABLE(at 99%). And i know what "stable" word means. Source: own experience .

You'll see a lot of people still have complaints regarding functions that get broken with each version, only to come back working after the next one. It's silly to assume CM team doesn't know **** about development and simply tag "nightly", "RC" and "stable" for the sake of it. Please don't bring up made up stability percentages into the lot.

You can glance at the nightly changelogs yourself to see NPEs getting corrected in relatively core apps nearly every week. Not just for crespo too, but regarding CM10 as a whole.

I'll give you that though, on a day to day basis, the rom is very usable. But good luck getting a 1000 hours uptime without the thing becoming sluggish.
The Following User Says Thank You to polobunny For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 10:32 PM   |  #15  
madd0g's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 700
 
2,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotellian

Managed to get ADB working on my old XP laptop, which i no longer have! :P Just tried to install it, and again the driver problem rears its ugly head. Just wont recognise the inf file! Like I said, dont really have the time, guess ill just have to flash to 4.0.3 and wait for the OTA Dont have the time to muck about trying to get the drivers working. Might give it one last bash with the SDK

Just get the PDAnet Android drivers.
30th October 2012, 10:59 PM   |  #16  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by madd0g

Just get the PDAnet Android drivers.

Was just going to do that, but think ive got it working now. Im guessing a full install from google's image will result in a compeltely stock phone including bootloader?
30th October 2012, 11:01 PM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
lol
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotellian

Ive had enough of running buggy, battery hungry roms and would like to return my Nexus S to stock. The last time I was on stock was 2.3.6 I believe. If I flash via CWM to the official 4.0.3 in this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1445570 will I then be able receive OTA updates, ie to 4.1.2? (obviously Ill be rooted again, but im not fussed)

lol, really you want to go back to stock?
wats buggy now?
stable roms of ics,gb came in...
30th October 2012, 11:31 PM   |  #18  
sergiu_s's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I'm using this now: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1946338 . It'a a 4.1.2 stock rom, just flash it and you're ready to go.

---------- Post added at 11:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:28 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by unnamed.aj.

lol, really you want to go back to stock?
wats buggy now?
stable roms of ics,gb came in...

For me, cm10 m2 was buggy and slow. So I had decided to return to 4.1.2 stock (with Matrix kernel )
30th October 2012, 11:55 PM   |  #19  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiu_s

I'm using this now: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1946338 . It'a a 4.1.2 stock rom, just flash it and you're ready to go.

---------- Post added at 11:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:28 PM ----------


For me, cm10 m2 was buggy and slow. So I had decided to return to 4.1.2 stock (with Matrix kernel )


Cheers, looks good Does it include radio? Just flash with CWM?
31st October 2012, 12:52 AM   |  #20  
madd0g's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 700
 
2,351 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotellian

Was just going to do that, but think ive got it working now. Im guessing a full install from google's image will result in a compeltely stock phone including bootloader?

If you use all commands from the flash-all.sh script, yes. No need to flash the bootloader and radio if you already have the latest version.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes