Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

ICS Status bar color change?

OP JG96EVO

24th December 2011, 07:39 PM   |  #1  
JG96EVO's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag N.Carolina
Thanks Meter: 66
 
224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Is there any way to change the status bar color in ICS on the NS4G from blue to whatever color u want? if so can some one kindly point me in the right direction? Thanks
25th December 2011, 09:15 AM   |  #2  
Shark_On_Land's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, Cali
Thanks Meter: 73
 
798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Of course, this is Android.

You are only limited by your skills to do so.

Its in the framework. Just edit them. Then blah blah. Easy.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus Sep using Tapatalk
25th December 2011, 10:16 AM   |  #3  
bearsblack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
953 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
^im sure that makes as much sense to the OP as much as its "easy" for u... -__-

ns4g via xda app
25th December 2011, 06:12 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, OH
Thanks Meter: 364
 
1,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearsblack

^im sure that makes as much sense to the OP as much as its "easy" for u... -__-

ns4g via xda app

If he knew how, he'd explain it, but the truth is that he's some 12yo kid who can't create/open a zip file yet claims to be a "developer".
25th December 2011, 06:45 PM   |  #5  
fergie716's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 3,719
 
3,986 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I'll hook you up when I'm @ my computer. And it's not in framework-res, it's in SystemUI.apk

EDIT: What did you mean by statusbar color? Are you referring to the clock/date? If so, decompile your SystemUI.apk and go to /res/values/styles.xml

For the clock, look for this line

Code:
TextAppearance.StatusBar.Clock
For the date, look for this line

Code:
TextAppearance.StatusBar.Date
If you change your clock color your carrier color will change to the same

You want to change this line in both

Code:
android:textColor
Change it to whatever hex value you want. Must be proceeded by "ff" if you want the full value or if you want transparency you can put something like enter a value from 0-99, 0 being fully transparent

If your ROM has the power widget then you have to change the png's in SystemUI>res>drawable-hdpi>

Then after you make your changes recompile and if you use apktool to do that you need to sign it. I use an old version of apkmanager to sign it.
Last edited by fergie716; 25th December 2011 at 06:59 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to fergie716 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 05:55 AM   |  #6  
JG96EVO's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag N.Carolina
Thanks Meter: 66
 
224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fergie716

I'll hook you up when I'm @ my computer. And it's not in framework-res, it's in SystemUI.apk

EDIT: What did you mean by statusbar color? Are you referring to the clock/date? If so, decompile your SystemUI.apk and go to /res/values/styles.xml

For the clock, look for this line

Code:
TextAppearance.StatusBar.Clock
For the date, look for this line

Code:
TextAppearance.StatusBar.Date
If you change your clock color your carrier color will change to the same

You want to change this line in both

Code:
android:textColor
Change it to whatever hex value you want. Must be proceeded by "ff" if you want the full value or if you want transparency you can put something like enter a value from 0-99, 0 being fully transparent

If your ROM has the power widget then you have to change the png's in SystemUI>res>drawable-hdpi>

Then after you make your changes recompile and if you use apktool to do that you need to sign it. I use an old version of apkmanager to sign it.

Thanks for the insight Fergie but houston we have a problem... i cant read it.. Im using Aosp v43 if it helps lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2011-12-25-22-51-39.jpg
Views:	553
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	829737  
26th December 2011, 06:10 AM   |  #7  
fergie716's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 3,719
 
3,986 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JG96EVO

Thanks for the insight Fergie but houston we have a problem... i cant read it.. Im using Aosp v43 if it helps lol

Did you decompile it or extract it? You need to use apktool or something similar to decompile. I have a guide on how to get apktool ready for ICS but you need to set up apktool 1st. There's plenty of guides out there for that, just Google it up

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fergie716 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 08:44 PM   |  #8  
JG96EVO's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag N.Carolina
Thanks Meter: 66
 
224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fergie716

Did you decompile it or extract it? You need to use apktool or something similar to decompile. I have a guide on how to get apktool ready for ICS but you need to set up apktool 1st. There's plenty of guides out there for that, just Google it up

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk

I googled how to decompile the systemui.apk but maybe im not understanding it clearly because i keep getting error messages.. do i use the computer and a command prompt? or terminal emulator? sorry for the questions.. im just kinda new to all this..
26th December 2011, 09:59 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Plainfield, Il.
Thanks Meter: 226
 
596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
You need to use a computer to decompile the apk. As fergie said there are plenty if guides here on XDA and other places to learn how to use apktool or apk manager.



Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk
27th December 2011, 03:52 AM   |  #10  
shane6374's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 1,270
 
2,793 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
And you must have SDK set up somewhere on you computer with the resources set up for android 4.0.3 at c:/user/apktool/framework

I'll attach what I'm using there. You can extract this into your user folder on you PC.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z apktool.7z - [Click for QR Code] (1.34 MB, 169 views)

The Following User Says Thank You to shane6374 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes