Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,174 Members 51,417 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ICS Status bar color change?

Tip us?
 
JG96EVO
Old
#1  
JG96EVO's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 212
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N.Carolina
Question ICS Status bar color change?

Is there any way to change the status bar color in ICS on the NS4G from blue to whatever color u want? if so can some one kindly point me in the right direction? Thanks
Im me whether u like it or not... Oh and i have a NS4G and a ET4G by the way

 
Shark_On_Land
Old
#2  
Shark_On_Land's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 798
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Jose, Cali

 
DONATE TO ME
Of course, this is Android.

You are only limited by your skills to do so.

Its in the framework. Just edit them. Then blah blah. Easy.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus Sep using Tapatalk
 
bearsblack
Old
#3  
bearsblack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 950
Join Date: Feb 2011
^im sure that makes as much sense to the OP as much as its "easy" for u... -__-

ns4g via xda app
Sent from LG-LS980

WTT: MY SPRINT LG G2 FOR NEXUS 5 both black 32GB.... PM ME
 
Braneless
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 363
Posts: 1,743
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dayton, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by bearsblack View Post
^im sure that makes as much sense to the OP as much as its "easy" for u... -__-

ns4g via xda app
If he knew how, he'd explain it, but the truth is that he's some 12yo kid who can't create/open a zip file yet claims to be a "developer".
 
fergie716
Old
(Last edited by fergie716; 25th December 2011 at 05:59 PM.)
#5  
fergie716's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3635
Posts: 3,933
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Buffalo, NY
I'll hook you up when I'm @ my computer. And it's not in framework-res, it's in SystemUI.apk

EDIT: What did you mean by statusbar color? Are you referring to the clock/date? If so, decompile your SystemUI.apk and go to /res/values/styles.xml

For the clock, look for this line

Code:
TextAppearance.StatusBar.Clock
For the date, look for this line

Code:
TextAppearance.StatusBar.Date
If you change your clock color your carrier color will change to the same

You want to change this line in both

Code:
android:textColor
Change it to whatever hex value you want. Must be proceeded by "ff" if you want the full value or if you want transparency you can put something like enter a value from 0-99, 0 being fully transparent

If your ROM has the power widget then you have to change the png's in SystemUI>res>drawable-hdpi>

Then after you make your changes recompile and if you use apktool to do that you need to sign it. I use an old version of apkmanager to sign it.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to fergie716 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JG96EVO
Old
#6  
JG96EVO's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 212
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N.Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by fergie716 View Post
I'll hook you up when I'm @ my computer. And it's not in framework-res, it's in SystemUI.apk

EDIT: What did you mean by statusbar color? Are you referring to the clock/date? If so, decompile your SystemUI.apk and go to /res/values/styles.xml

For the clock, look for this line

Code:
TextAppearance.StatusBar.Clock
For the date, look for this line

Code:
TextAppearance.StatusBar.Date
If you change your clock color your carrier color will change to the same

You want to change this line in both

Code:
android:textColor
Change it to whatever hex value you want. Must be proceeded by "ff" if you want the full value or if you want transparency you can put something like enter a value from 0-99, 0 being fully transparent

If your ROM has the power widget then you have to change the png's in SystemUI>res>drawable-hdpi>

Then after you make your changes recompile and if you use apktool to do that you need to sign it. I use an old version of apkmanager to sign it.
Thanks for the insight Fergie but houston we have a problem... i cant read it.. Im using Aosp v43 if it helps lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2011-12-25-22-51-39.jpg
Views:	542
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	829737  
Im me whether u like it or not... Oh and i have a NS4G and a ET4G by the way

 
fergie716
Old
#7  
fergie716's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3635
Posts: 3,933
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Buffalo, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by JG96EVO View Post
Thanks for the insight Fergie but houston we have a problem... i cant read it.. Im using Aosp v43 if it helps lol
Did you decompile it or extract it? You need to use apktool or something similar to decompile. I have a guide on how to get apktool ready for ICS but you need to set up apktool 1st. There's plenty of guides out there for that, just Google it up

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fergie716 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JG96EVO
Old
#8  
JG96EVO's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 212
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N.Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by fergie716 View Post
Did you decompile it or extract it? You need to use apktool or something similar to decompile. I have a guide on how to get apktool ready for ICS but you need to set up apktool 1st. There's plenty of guides out there for that, just Google it up

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk
I googled how to decompile the systemui.apk but maybe im not understanding it clearly because i keep getting error messages.. do i use the computer and a command prompt? or terminal emulator? sorry for the questions.. im just kinda new to all this..
Im me whether u like it or not... Oh and i have a NS4G and a ET4G by the way

 
Paul627g
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 596
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plainfield, Il.
You need to use a computer to decompile the apk. As fergie said there are plenty if guides here on XDA and other places to learn how to use apktool or apk manager.



Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk
 
shane6374
Old
#10  
shane6374's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1270
Posts: 2,792
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
And you must have SDK set up somewhere on you computer with the resources set up for android 4.0.3 at c:/user/apktool/framework

I'll attach what I'm using there. You can extract this into your user folder on you PC.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z apktool.7z - [Click for QR Code] (1.34 MB, 164 views)

Current Device - Nexus 5
Retired Devices - Nexus 4 - Galaxy S3 - Nexus S 4G - Epic 4G - Touch Pro 2 - Vogue
Please click the "Thanks" button if I helped or you like my work.
Twitter @shane6374

The Following User Says Thank You to shane6374 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes