Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,462 Members 42,349 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

NST won't connect to B&N

Tip us?
 
OverByter
Old
#1  
OverByter's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 124
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Haven

 
DONATE TO ME
Default NST won't connect to B&N

After rooting and re-rooting dozen different NST I find that sometimes after rooting I'm no longer able to access the B&N storefront, whether to browse or download purchased content. I can't seem to find any common denominator, different kernels, installed apps, it just seems random, the only solution that I've found is to revert back to the original nandroid that was made right after rooting and starting from there. Has anyone else experienced this and if so how did you go about correcting it? TIA OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
 
thenookieforlife3
Old
#2  
thenookieforlife3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 258
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Washington D.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverByter View Post
After rooting and re-rooting dozen different NST I find that sometimes after rooting I'm no longer able to access the B&N storefront, whether to browse or download purchased content. I can't seem to find any common denominator, different kernels, installed apps, it just seems random, the only solution that I've found is to revert back to the original nandroid that was made right after rooting and starting from there. Has anyone else experienced this and if so how did you go about correcting it? TIA OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
Does this mean that you get a flash screen when you try to open Shop.apk?

Is this device assuredly registered with B&N already?
Sent from my rooted Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight using Opera Mini

My works:

[NST/NSTG] Cool status bar modification!
[NST/NSTG] Framework Fixer!
[Signatures] I make custom XDA signatures!

The best way to show someone on XDA that you're grateful for their post is to click/tap the button.

 
Renate NST
Old
#3  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 804
Posts: 1,991
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston
You're not copying the same /rom partition to multiple Nooks, are you?
If you are blasting 1.9G images to Nooks, that's what you are doing.

 
OverByter
Old
#4  
OverByter's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 124
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Haven

 
DONATE TO ME
To answer you both, the nooks have been registered and working fine within the B&N ecosystem, however after awhile of trying different apps and settings I lose the ability to communicate with :B&N, on every device to be able to restore connectivity I flashed a nandroid backup specific to that device. It just seems to randomly stop connecting and the only way to rectify it is to go back in time with the nandroid. Which is much simpler than me originally going back to stock and rerooting the device. I wish I could narrow it down because I have quite a few gift cards from relatives, even if I purchased them on my pc I have no way to download them to the Nook itself. If anyone has any ideas I'm up for testing. TIA
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
 
thenookieforlife3
Old
#5  
thenookieforlife3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 258
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Washington D.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverByter View Post
To answer you both, the nooks have been registered and working fine within the B&N ecosystem, however after awhile of trying different apps and settings I lose the ability to communicate with :B&N, on every device to be able to restore connectivity I flashed a nandroid backup specific to that device. It just seems to randomly stop connecting and the only way to rectify it is to go back in time with the nandroid. Which is much simpler than me originally going back to stock and rerooting the device. I wish I could narrow it down because I have quite a few gift cards from relatives, even if I purchased them on my pc I have no way to download them to the Nook itself. If anyone has any ideas I'm up for testing. TIA
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
So what is ACTUALLY happening when you try to, let's say, open the shop?
Sent from my rooted Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight using Opera Mini

My works:

[NST/NSTG] Cool status bar modification!
[NST/NSTG] Framework Fixer!
[Signatures] I make custom XDA signatures!

The best way to show someone on XDA that you're grateful for their post is to click/tap the button.

 
OverByter
Old
#6  
OverByter's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 124
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Haven

 
DONATE TO ME
The sync button rotates a couple of times then all of the panes are blank, if I try from the home screen I get a generic error message that something went wrong and to try again. Happens on the home screen, library and the storefront. :banghead:
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
 
thenookieforlife3
Old
#7  
thenookieforlife3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 258
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Washington D.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverByter View Post
The sync button rotates a couple of times then all of the panes are blank, if I try from the home screen I get a generic error message that something went wrong and to try again. Happens on the home screen, library and the storefront. :banghead:
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
Boo. I don't really want to tell you this (because it's a hassle), but back when I was a newbie with hacking and such, I had that problem, too, and I had to do the interrupted-boot reset to fix it. :thumbdown:
Sent from my rooted Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight using Opera Mini

My works:

[NST/NSTG] Cool status bar modification!
[NST/NSTG] Framework Fixer!
[Signatures] I make custom XDA signatures!

The best way to show someone on XDA that you're grateful for their post is to click/tap the button.

 
OverByter
Old
#8  
OverByter's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 124
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Haven

 
DONATE TO ME
Why would it be a hassle, there's a much better way to get back to factory stock, just hold down the lower page turn buttons while powering up the device, after a few seconds you'll get a prompt asking if you wish to reset the device. :thumbup: No more 8 failed boot attempts before you could reset.
OB
Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
 
thenookieforlife3
Old
#9  
thenookieforlife3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 258
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Washington D.C.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverByter View Post
Why would it be a hassle, there's a much better way to get back to factory stock, just hold down the lower page turn buttons while powering up the device, after a few seconds you'll get a prompt asking if you wish to reset the device. :thumbup: No more 8 failed boot attempts before you could reset.
OB
Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
It's not the same process. You can also boot with NookManager and do the factory reset offered there, as it makes the Nook think that it has been unsuccessfully booted 8 times in order to get the actual factory IMAGE to restore.

I'm signing off now. Bye.
Sent from my rooted Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight using Opera Mini

My works:

[NST/NSTG] Cool status bar modification!
[NST/NSTG] Framework Fixer!
[Signatures] I make custom XDA signatures!

The best way to show someone on XDA that you're grateful for their post is to click/tap the button.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more

Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more

Android One Goes Live in India!

Android One is a Google initiative set to bring an AOSP-like experience tosome emergingmarkets like India, … more