Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

NST won't connect to B&N

OP OverByter

24th August 2014, 06:14 AM   |  #1  
OverByter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag West Haven
Thanks Meter: 32
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
After rooting and re-rooting dozen different NST I find that sometimes after rooting I'm no longer able to access the B&N storefront, whether to browse or download purchased content. I can't seem to find any common denominator, different kernels, installed apps, it just seems random, the only solution that I've found is to revert back to the original nandroid that was made right after rooting and starting from there. Has anyone else experienced this and if so how did you go about correcting it? TIA OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
24th August 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #2  
ИΘΘK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington D.C.
Thanks Meter: 623
 
921 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverByter

After rooting and re-rooting dozen different NST I find that sometimes after rooting I'm no longer able to access the B&N storefront, whether to browse or download purchased content. I can't seem to find any common denominator, different kernels, installed apps, it just seems random, the only solution that I've found is to revert back to the original nandroid that was made right after rooting and starting from there. Has anyone else experienced this and if so how did you go about correcting it? TIA OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2

Does this mean that you get a flash screen when you try to open Shop.apk?

Is this device assuredly registered with B&N already?
24th August 2014, 02:58 PM   |  #3  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Boston
Thanks Meter: 822
 
2,000 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
You're not copying the same /rom partition to multiple Nooks, are you?
If you are blasting 1.9G images to Nooks, that's what you are doing.
24th August 2014, 03:25 PM   |  #4  
OverByter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag West Haven
Thanks Meter: 32
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
To answer you both, the nooks have been registered and working fine within the B&N ecosystem, however after awhile of trying different apps and settings I lose the ability to communicate with :B&N, on every device to be able to restore connectivity I flashed a nandroid backup specific to that device. It just seems to randomly stop connecting and the only way to rectify it is to go back in time with the nandroid. Which is much simpler than me originally going back to stock and rerooting the device. I wish I could narrow it down because I have quite a few gift cards from relatives, even if I purchased them on my pc I have no way to download them to the Nook itself. If anyone has any ideas I'm up for testing. TIA
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
25th August 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #5  
ИΘΘK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington D.C.
Thanks Meter: 623
 
921 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverByter

To answer you both, the nooks have been registered and working fine within the B&N ecosystem, however after awhile of trying different apps and settings I lose the ability to communicate with :B&N, on every device to be able to restore connectivity I flashed a nandroid backup specific to that device. It just seems to randomly stop connecting and the only way to rectify it is to go back in time with the nandroid. Which is much simpler than me originally going back to stock and rerooting the device. I wish I could narrow it down because I have quite a few gift cards from relatives, even if I purchased them on my pc I have no way to download them to the Nook itself. If anyone has any ideas I'm up for testing. TIA
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2

So what is ACTUALLY happening when you try to, let's say, open the shop?
25th August 2014, 04:51 AM   |  #6  
OverByter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag West Haven
Thanks Meter: 32
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
The sync button rotates a couple of times then all of the panes are blank, if I try from the home screen I get a generic error message that something went wrong and to try again. Happens on the home screen, library and the storefront. :banghead:
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
25th August 2014, 05:11 AM   |  #7  
ИΘΘK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington D.C.
Thanks Meter: 623
 
921 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverByter

The sync button rotates a couple of times then all of the panes are blank, if I try from the home screen I get a generic error message that something went wrong and to try again. Happens on the home screen, library and the storefront. :banghead:
OB

Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2

Boo. I don't really want to tell you this (because it's a hassle), but back when I was a newbie with hacking and such, I had that problem, too, and I had to do the interrupted-boot reset to fix it. :thumbdown:
25th August 2014, 06:18 AM   |  #8  
OverByter's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag West Haven
Thanks Meter: 32
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Why would it be a hassle, there's a much better way to get back to factory stock, just hold down the lower page turn buttons while powering up the device, after a few seconds you'll get a prompt asking if you wish to reset the device. :thumbup: No more 8 failed boot attempts before you could reset.
OB
Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2
25th August 2014, 06:22 AM   |  #9  
ИΘΘK's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington D.C.
Thanks Meter: 623
 
921 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverByter

Why would it be a hassle, there's a much better way to get back to factory stock, just hold down the lower page turn buttons while powering up the device, after a few seconds you'll get a prompt asking if you wish to reset the device. :thumbup: No more 8 failed boot attempts before you could reset.
OB
Sent from my SPH-D710VMUB using Tapatalk 2

It's not the same process. You can also boot with NookManager and do the factory reset offered there, as it makes the Nook think that it has been unsuccessfully booted 8 times in order to get the actual factory IMAGE to restore.

I'm signing off now. Bye.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes