Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,588 Members 46,162 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help Rooting with 4.4.2 - nothing works!

Tip us?
 
geo316
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default [Q] Help Rooting with 4.4.2 - nothing works!

I've researched or tried Towelroot, Kingo and several other methods found in this forum and others. Everything seems to be for previous (before 4.4.2) Android releases and therefore does not work with my phone.

Is there anything that currently works to root a stock OTA 4.4.2?

Help!

Thanks!

Geo
 
@SidDev
Old
#2  
@SidDev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 376
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kolkata
Quote:
Originally Posted by geo316 View Post
I've researched or tried Towelroot, Kingo and several other methods found in this forum and others. Everything seems to be for previous (before 4.4.2) Android releases and therefore does not work with my phone.

Is there anything that currently works to root a stock OTA 4.4.2?

Help!

Thanks!

Geo
is your boot loader unlocked??
and best way to root is install custom recovery via adb
and flash superSU.zip

pressed thanks if I helped you.
if you need further help contact me.
happy to help you .
 
geo316
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by @SidDev View Post
is your boot loader unlocked??
and best way to root is install custom recovery via adb
and flash superSU.zip

pressed thanks if I helped you.
if you need further help contact me.
Everything is bone stock - bootloader is locked... custom recovery requires that it be unlocked correct?
 
jlmancuso
Old
#4  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,962
Posts: 4,661
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: houston, tx

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by geo316 View Post
Everything is bone stock - bootloader is locked... custom recovery requires that it be unlocked correct?
If you are using a sprint l900 then bootloader iS NOT LOCKED. Use a windows pc and cf's auto root and you will be rooted.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Jlmancuso

HTC Og Evo, Evo 3d, kyocera torque and Note II all cloned on cricKet
The Following User Says Thank You to jlmancuso For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
geo316
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default FYI

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmancuso View Post
If you are using a sprint l900 then bootloader iS NOT LOCKED. Use a windows pc and cf's auto root and you will be rooted.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
There is MUCH Joy.

For others who may need this info: I spent about an hour reading through the XDA forum for CF-Auto-Root.

I then spent about 10 minutes finding and installing Samsung USB Drivers

I then followed the CF Auto Root instructions. It worked. less than a minute later I was rooted.

I then spent 1/2 hour searching for, downloading, installing and configuring the APK for SuperSu 2.1 (manually since CF Auto Root installed version 1.something, which seemed to keep crashing).

For added joy I installed from Google Play WiFi Tether Router (paid app) and 10 minutes later had working Hot Spot.

Thanks for pointing me to the right place - and for the tip about my bootloader.

 
@SidDev
Old
#6  
@SidDev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 376
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kolkata
Quote:
Originally Posted by geo316 View Post
There is MUCH Joy.

For others who may need this info: I spent about an hour reading through the XDA forum for CF-Auto-Root.

I then spent about 10 minutes finding and installing Samsung USB Drivers

I then followed the CF Auto Root instructions. It worked. less than a minute later I was rooted.

I then spent 1/2 hour searching for, downloading, installing and configuring the APK for SuperSu 2.1 (manually since CF Auto Root installed version 1.something, which seemed to keep crashing).

For added joy I installed from Google Play WiFi Tether Router (paid app) and 10 minutes later had working Hot Spot.

Thanks for pointing me to the right place - and for the tip about my bootloader.

you should have pressed thanks for both of us instead.

me and @jlmancuso
happy to help you .
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes