Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Note 2 - Fix buzzing, hissing, static headphone port not working. My attempt 2 fix

OP plasticslug

19th July 2014, 11:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Seems there are many people in my situation....

You are not alone... and I hope to help....

http://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyNote2/...eir_note_isnt/
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2393130
http://forums.androidcentral.com/sam...-static-2.html
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iD1_vXsXAgI

Possible Fixes...
Hitting your phone with your knee... barbaric but works... for a few seconds... DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM

Buying a new headphone jack port.. get one on ebay for under 6 bucks. you will have a new headphone jack DOES NOT FIX PROBELM

Tightening screw on back of phone... this will temporarily fix

My theories and ideas... There are not enough screws in the area and not enough pressure to hit the contact points (grounds) that the phone sandwiches between the front and back of the phone.

When driving the slightest vibration, breaks that contact, causing the headphones to have static.

I need to something that would....
1. Can bridge that gap and carry a current...
2. a Buffer that will fill that small gap, and reduce vibration...

The fix Cut a small ribbon of aluminum foil,, fold that ribbon, over and over till you have a tiny square that will fit in the space pictured below. Poke a hole in the tiny square with a sewing needle, and make it wider with a tooth pick.

Now the screw that goes through this hole usually screws though the back of the case... were going to bypass the back of the case and scew this directly into that hole. With the hope of adding more pressure to the area and reduce vibration.

See picture below.
http://i.imgur.com/v6TwpZG.jpg
The Following User Says Thank You to plasticslug For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th September 2014, 06:49 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasticslug

Seems there are many people in my situation....

You are not alone... and I hope to help....

http://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyNote2/...eir_note_isnt/
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2393130
http://forums.androidcentral.com/sam...-static-2.html
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iD1_vXsXAgI

Possible Fixes...
Hitting your phone with your knee... barbaric but works... for a few seconds... DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM

Buying a new headphone jack port.. get one on ebay for under 6 bucks. you will have a new headphone jack DOES NOT FIX PROBELM

Tightening screw on back of phone... this will temporarily fix

My theories and ideas... There are not enough screws in the area and not enough pressure to hit the contact points (grounds) that the phone sandwiches between the front and back of the phone.

When driving the slightest vibration, breaks that contact, causing the headphones to have static.

I need to something that would....
1. Can bridge that gap and carry a current...
2. a Buffer that will fill that small gap, and reduce vibration...

The fix Cut a small ribbon of aluminum foil,, fold that ribbon, over and over till you have a tiny square that will fit in the space pictured below. Poke a hole in the tiny square with a sewing needle, and make it wider with a tooth pick.

Now the screw that goes through this hole usually screws though the back of the case... were going to bypass the back of the case and scew this directly into that hole. With the hope of adding more pressure to the area and reduce vibration.

See picture below.
http://i.imgur.com/v6TwpZG.jpg


Is this fix still working for you? I have been trying to figure out this problem for a month now. The only reason I came across this post is because I did a generic search for headphones... Thanks so much for posting this. I thought it was the liquidsmooth rom because it did not start until after I flashed it.
20th September 2014, 05:52 PM   |  #3  
MarkP80nj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bayville
Thanks Meter: 28
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Hi guys.
I just tried this fix with no success.
Maybe my problem is that I do need a new port.
But the worst part is that after assembling everything back together, my hardware buttons stopped working (home, back and menu)
Any clue on why, and how to fix it?
Thanks.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes