Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply

My Note 2 is stuck at loading logo of Tmobile 4G LTE

OP kevzz01

21st August 2014, 07:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
I used factory reset and now my phone is stuck at the tmobile logo. I was rooted before but I removed SuperSU before doing the factory reset. I also tried wiping out the data at recovery mode but I'm still having the same problem. Is there anyone that can help me fix my Note 2?
21st August 2014, 08:04 AM   |  #2  
@SidDev's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 233
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevzz01

I used factory reset and now my phone is stuck at the tmobile logo. I was rooted before but I removed SuperSU before doing the factory reset. I also tried wiping out the data at recovery mode but I'm still having the same problem. Is there anyone that can help me fix my Note 2?

I hope you didn't wipe system my mistake
21st August 2014, 10:12 PM   |  #3  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 464
 
993 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Wiping /system is a trivial problem to solve, just flash again and voilà.

What are you trying to accomplish exactly? If you want back to stock, flash the appropriate ROM with Odin, boot to stock recovery, factory reset and call it a day. Unless you've messed up your NV items or done something incorrect with the bootloader, that's pretty much all there is to it.
23rd August 2014, 07:34 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
I wiped out the cache partition at recovery mode and now my phone is working just fine. The reason I factory reset my phone because I want to try if the system will let me update OTA after a reset. Unfortunately it won't let me update still because my phone was rooted. Is there a way to bypass this so I'd be able to update my phone?
23rd August 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #5  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 464
 
993 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Ah! Flashing back to a non-rooted ROM would allow the OTA mechanisms to work normally.

There's inherently a risk for a ROM update to patch something that's been modified in ways it does not expect, such as root on a stock ROM.

In the case of Samsung devices, you could always Odin flash back to stock, or a pre-rooted stock image.
24th August 2014, 06:43 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkshado

Ah! Flashing back to a non-rooted ROM would allow the OTA mechanisms to work normally.

There's inherently a risk for a ROM update to patch something that's been modified in ways it does not expect, such as root on a stock ROM.

In the case of Samsung devices, you could always Odin flash back to stock, or a pre-rooted stock image.

Well I've always been on stock. I just rooted my phone before for some apps and that's it. I never use any custom rom. Im still at stock but wont let me update still
24th August 2014, 09:23 PM   |  #7  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 464
 
993 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Consider yourself as "custom" the moment you change anything on your /system partition, that includes root.

Samsung ROMs have this check that's displayed somewhere in settings, where your ROM will say if it thinks it's been modified. If so, OTA updates will be disabled.

Factory reset alone won't completely unroot you. You must unroot, then factory reset.

At this point, since you just want a stock rooted ROM and have already factory reset, you could flash the latest pre-rooted ROM with Odin. Will probably be simpler than prodding the phone into getting the OTA.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes