Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,797 Members 51,684 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wipe and factory reset

Tip us?
 
ace2153
Old
#1  
ace2153's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 312
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Wipe and factory reset

I'm just curious before I root my phone would it be best to back my phone up to my laptop the factory reset it then root it?

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Coug76
Old
#2  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 702
Posts: 1,897
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace2153 View Post
I'm just curious before I root my phone would it be best to back my phone up to my laptop the factory reset it then root it?

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Not a bad idea.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
The Following User Says Thank You to Coug76 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ciphercodes
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 235
Posts: 472
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace2153 View Post
I'm just curious before I root my phone would it be best to back my phone up to my laptop the factory reset it then root it?

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Backing up your phone before making any changes is always recommended. But since it's not rooted you may not be able to perform a full backup. I have heard about an app called Carbio which can backup data without root but I have never used it.
You may use the Samsung and Google's device backup features to retain your contacts and settings. You can copy all your files, pictures to your laptop.

Personally I would not advise to perform a factory reset unless you are upgrading(major upgrades 4.3->4.4), downgrading(4.3->4.3) or switching between different ROMs (AOSP, Touchwiz).
Factory reset will delete all your app data, settings and you will have to start all over again.
 
ace2153
Old
#4  
ace2153's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 312
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks but I don't mind starting over I just wanted to know if it's safe 😊
 
vinmaster
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2012
It would reset the flash counter though. You would restore back to stock but they can tell by the flash counter. You have to use something like triangle away
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes