Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wipe and factory reset

OP ace2153

9th July 2014, 01:07 PM   |  #1  
ace2153's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I'm just curious before I root my phone would it be best to back my phone up to my laptop the factory reset it then root it?

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th July 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #2  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 764
 
2,009 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace2153

I'm just curious before I root my phone would it be best to back my phone up to my laptop the factory reset it then root it?

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Not a bad idea.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
The Following User Says Thank You to Coug76 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th July 2014, 05:53 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ace2153

I'm just curious before I root my phone would it be best to back my phone up to my laptop the factory reset it then root it?

Sent from my SGH-T889 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Backing up your phone before making any changes is always recommended. But since it's not rooted you may not be able to perform a full backup. I have heard about an app called Carbio which can backup data without root but I have never used it.
You may use the Samsung and Google's device backup features to retain your contacts and settings. You can copy all your files, pictures to your laptop.

Personally I would not advise to perform a factory reset unless you are upgrading(major upgrades 4.3->4.4), downgrading(4.3->4.3) or switching between different ROMs (AOSP, Touchwiz).
Factory reset will delete all your app data, settings and you will have to start all over again.
9th July 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #4  
ace2153's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thanks but I don't mind starting over I just wanted to know if it's safe 😊
9th July 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
It would reset the flash counter though. You would restore back to stock but they can tell by the flash counter. You have to use something like triangle away
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes