FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] How to do a stock MJ5 upgrade to NC2 ?

19th July 2014, 11:42 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Guys

I have a SM-900A on MJ5, not rooted, on ultra mobile (t-mobile)

1. software update says there is no update available.

2. i tried 240258.zip (or something - renamed to update.zip) in sd card...Install from external storage...gives me some error about keys not matching, wipes /data and reboots


The guide to go up to 4.4.2 over here uses a UrDroid rooted 4.4.2 after safestrap. But that was back in Apr 2014 when towelroot was not available.
Where can i just download the correct update.zip and do a stock upgrade to 4.4.2? i do want to root after it but i am assuming towelroot should work without a hiccup. Am i missing something here?

Thanks
 
 
20th July 2014, 12:51 AM |#2  
monkor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
I JUST did this same dance. Don't follow any other instructions except for the "Ready to update to KK from JB" guide laid out here. You'll be incredibly pleased ha. So easy and hiccup free. Use Geohot's root toolbar to get you started! Good luck! PM me if you have problems

EDIT: Guide is here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2710972

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by monkor; 20th July 2014 at 01:17 AM.
20th July 2014, 03:04 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkor

I JUST did this same dance. Don't follow any other instructions except for the "Ready to update to KK from JB" guide laid out here. You'll be incredibly pleased ha. So easy and hiccup free. Use Geohot's root toolbar to get you started! Good luck! PM me if you have problems

EDIT: Guide is here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2710972

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks monkor..will gave that a shot

edit: monkor..that was I asking about when I said do you really need to safestrap? Can't I just Odin that urdroid rom or the stock update? (Where is the stock update of 4.4.2?)
Last edited by AtlzBest26; 20th July 2014 at 03:09 AM. Reason: more info
20th July 2014, 04:13 AM |#4  
monkor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
From what I've read, everyone who deviates from that guide has problems. You might Hey lucky and not, but I'd just go roti the easy method. Took me all of five minutes

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th July 2014, 05:45 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkor

From what I've read, everyone who deviates from that guide has problems. You might Hey lucky and not, but I'd just go roti the easy method. Took me all of five minutes

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

ok here's where i am at

1. rooted on mj5 using kingo
2. safestrap 3.71 done
3. when i try to do a wipe data in ss, i am getting a error on /data and /data media (something about encryption, i hadn't touched any settings in mj5..i was pure stock)...any ideas what might be going on?

Thanks
20th July 2014, 05:05 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlzBest26

ok here's where i am at

1. rooted on mj5 using kingo
2. safestrap 3.71 done
3. when i try to do a wipe data in ss, i am getting a error on /data and /data media (something about encryption, i hadn't touched any settings in mj5..i was pure stock)...any ideas what might be going on?

Thanks

i just went to bestbuy and got 4.4.2. Btw all they did was Odin the stock 4.4.2 in and im sure he only did that.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank