OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more

KDZ of Android 5.0.1 Captured for T-Mobile LG G3

T-Mobile US is yet to release the 20B Lollipop build for the LG G3. Luckily enough, you … more

Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more

What’s Your Biggest Reason for Not Owning an iPhone?

With XDA being a community of Android enthusiasts, it is not uncommon to see … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] How to do a stock MJ5 upgrade to NC2 ?

19th July 2014, 11:42 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Guys

I have a SM-900A on MJ5, not rooted, on ultra mobile (t-mobile)

1. software update says there is no update available.

2. i tried 240258.zip (or something - renamed to update.zip) in sd card...Install from external storage...gives me some error about keys not matching, wipes /data and reboots


The guide to go up to 4.4.2 over here uses a UrDroid rooted 4.4.2 after safestrap. But that was back in Apr 2014 when towelroot was not available.
Where can i just download the correct update.zip and do a stock upgrade to 4.4.2? i do want to root after it but i am assuming towelroot should work without a hiccup. Am i missing something here?

Thanks
20th July 2014, 12:51 AM |#2  
monkor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC
Thanks Meter: 122
 
545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I JUST did this same dance. Don't follow any other instructions except for the "Ready to update to KK from JB" guide laid out here. You'll be incredibly pleased ha. So easy and hiccup free. Use Geohot's root toolbar to get you started! Good luck! PM me if you have problems

EDIT: Guide is here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2710972

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by monkor; 20th July 2014 at 01:17 AM.
20th July 2014, 03:04 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkor

I JUST did this same dance. Don't follow any other instructions except for the "Ready to update to KK from JB" guide laid out here. You'll be incredibly pleased ha. So easy and hiccup free. Use Geohot's root toolbar to get you started! Good luck! PM me if you have problems

EDIT: Guide is here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2710972

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks monkor..will gave that a shot

edit: monkor..that was I asking about when I said do you really need to safestrap? Can't I just Odin that urdroid rom or the stock update? (Where is the stock update of 4.4.2?)
Last edited by AtlzBest26; 20th July 2014 at 03:09 AM. Reason: more info
20th July 2014, 04:13 AM |#4  
monkor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC
Thanks Meter: 122
 
545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
From what I've read, everyone who deviates from that guide has problems. You might Hey lucky and not, but I'd just go roti the easy method. Took me all of five minutes

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th July 2014, 05:45 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkor

From what I've read, everyone who deviates from that guide has problems. You might Hey lucky and not, but I'd just go roti the easy method. Took me all of five minutes

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

ok here's where i am at

1. rooted on mj5 using kingo
2. safestrap 3.71 done
3. when i try to do a wipe data in ss, i am getting a error on /data and /data media (something about encryption, i hadn't touched any settings in mj5..i was pure stock)...any ideas what might be going on?

Thanks
20th July 2014, 05:05 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlzBest26

ok here's where i am at

1. rooted on mj5 using kingo
2. safestrap 3.71 done
3. when i try to do a wipe data in ss, i am getting a error on /data and /data media (something about encryption, i hadn't touched any settings in mj5..i was pure stock)...any ideas what might be going on?

Thanks

i just went to bestbuy and got 4.4.2. Btw all they did was Odin the stock 4.4.2 in and im sure he only did that.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes