Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Forgot to make nandroid of NC2, any way to return to stock AT&T???

OP jreed3786

7th July 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #1  
jreed3786's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 91
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
I took the NC2 update...I then towelrooted, installed safestrap...then installed a custom rom. I realized I didn't nandroid backup my stock system...am I now screwed for restoring it to stock???
7th July 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #2  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 435
 
1,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
I guess you didn't like my answer to your previous post which was the same question. Sorry
7th July 2014, 04:40 AM   |  #3  
jreed3786's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 91
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

I guess you didn't like my answer to your previous post which was the same question. Sorry

Nah...I did...but they were wrong, apparently. When I asked that question, I was NOT on the A3 bootloader. I got fixed a different way, then decided to update manually to 4.4.2 NC2, then flash a custom rom. I then forgot to nandroid the NC2 official rom.

Regardless, when I went to BestBuy, the Samsung rep said no matter what, even if unrooted, they couldn't flash the official NC2 over it, it would brick the phone. Were they full of it???
7th July 2014, 05:08 AM   |  #4  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 435
 
1,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreed3786

Nah...I did...but they were wrong, apparently. When I asked that question, I was NOT on the A3 bootloader. I got fixed a different way, then decided to update manually to 4.4.2 NC2, then flash a custom rom. I then forgot to nandroid the NC2 official rom.

Regardless, when I went to BestBuy, the Samsung rep said no matter what, even if unrooted, they couldn't flash the official NC2 over it, it would brick the phone. Were they full of it???

The o.p. of that thread was on the official nc2 with the a3 bootloader. So forgive me for assuming you were too.

I wouldn't say the bestbuy guys were completely full of it. I believe they are uneducated. I've read a few posts of rooted users saying bestbuy fixed them up. I've also read posts of users saying bestbuy couldn't. I went to one just to ask before I updated, and my bestbuy guy was completely ignorant! He didn't even know what the custom padlock meant. One day I traveled for vacation and stopped by a different one, and the bestbuy guy said he could update me. So basically we're limited to the education level of our local bestbuy Samsung guy. After all they are trained to be salesman, not repairman. If the guy doesn't know what he's doing, it's easier for him to say no.

My previous android experience tells me that if you have the proper tar files, you won't brick it. No matter how botched up it was before.
The Following User Says Thank You to 440bro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2014, 05:35 AM   |  #5  
Account currently disabled
Flag NC
Thanks Meter: 780
 
1,243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Fix it yourself.... Grab mlg.tar 4.4.2 and Odin flash that.. I did the same thing works perfect...

Sent from N900A ThunderKat HeadQuarterZ
The Following User Says Thank You to Cod3L1ne For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #6  
jreed3786's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 91
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cod3L1ne

Fix it yourself.... Grab mlg.tar 4.4.2 and Odin flash that.. I did the same thing works perfect...

Sent from N900A ThunderKat HeadQuarterZ

So... do you have a link that you can pm me for the download??? I can go from custom NC2 to MLG without tripping knox??? Then update back to official NC2 4.4.2?
7th July 2014, 06:41 PM   |  #7  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 435
 
1,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreed3786

So... do you have a link that you can pm me for the download??? I can go from custom NC2 to MLG without tripping knox??? Then update back to official NC2 4.4.2?

MLG is the leaked kit Kat build. It's not an official firmware. Here's a link to that.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2619941
7th July 2014, 06:43 PM   |  #8  
jreed3786's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 91
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

MLG is the leaked kit Kat build. It's not an official firmware. Here's a link to that.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2619941

Here's an odin link for MLG leaked, http://nasirtech.blogspot.com/2014/0...e-3-n900a.html but wouldn't this trip knox if I'm on a custom NC2 firmware with A3 bootloader?? Never mind...it's the same file....lol.
Last edited by jreed3786; 7th July 2014 at 06:51 PM.
7th July 2014, 07:03 PM   |  #9  
jreed3786's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 91
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
SW REV CHECK FAIL : [aboot]Fused 3 > Binary 2

It ain't happening.
7th July 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #10  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 435
 
1,222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jreed3786

Here's an odin link for MLG leaked, http://nasirtech.blogspot.com/2014/0...e-3-n900a.html but wouldn't this trip knox if I'm on a custom NC2 firmware with A3 bootloader?? Never mind...it's the same file....lol.

In my personal opinion I think urdroid is a better experience then the MLG leak. Urdroid is a slightly modified stock NC2.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2703006

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes