Post Reply

Recommned a file editor

11th July 2014, 08:02 PM   |  #1  
rxv73's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Cedar Lake
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Can anyone recommend a file editor? I'm trying to update a feature.xml file using es file explorer. I can open the file and make a change. But it doesn't save it. It just says can't save. I'm rooted and have supersu installed.
11th July 2014, 09:22 PM   |  #2  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 413
 
1,181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rxv73

Can anyone recommend a file editor? I'm trying to update a feature.xml file using es file explorer. I can open the file and make a change. But it doesn't save it. It just says can't save. I'm rooted and have supersu installed.

You have to change system properties before you can save files in the system folder.

In Es File explorer click the menu button and open tools. Scroll down to root explorer and turn it on. Then tap it and select Mount R/W. Change "/system" to be RW and hit OK.

Now any file in the system folder can be edited, written, saved, or deleted so be careful. Once you are finished editing repeat the process to mount "system" as RO. Depending on what you did you may need to reboot for changes to take effect.
The Following User Says Thank You to 440bro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th July 2014, 10:31 PM   |  #3  
rxv73's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Cedar Lake
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

You have to change system properties before you can save files in the system folder.

In Es File explorer click the menu button and open tools. Scroll down to root explorer and turn it on. Then tap it and select Mount R/W. Change "/system" to be RW and hit OK.

Now any file in the system folder can be edited, written, saved, or deleted so be careful. Once you are finished editing repeat the process to mount "system" as RO. Depending on what you did you may need to reboot for changes to take effect.

Great Thanks. It's working now.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes