Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tethering with root or custom rom

OP shane1981

3rd September 2014, 02:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
millington
Thanks Meter: 68
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Will root or custom rom allow you to tether without at&t trying to tell you that you have to have a tethering plan ? Ive got a iphone user that want a note 3 but the deal breaker is if they can tether without a tethering plan using root or a custom rom .?
3rd September 2014, 06:05 AM   |  #2  
K-alz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, Ohio... Southeast Oklahoma originally
Thanks Meter: 2,768
 
4,025 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane1981

Will root or custom rom allow you to tether without at&t trying to tell you that you have to have a tethering plan ? Ive got a iphone user that want a note 3 but the deal breaker is if they can tether without a tethering plan using root or a custom rom .?

Have him get the Note 3 now and root it, install xposed frame work then install X tether, enable it in xposed, reboot, and tether away.
3rd September 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #3  
badler6545's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 20
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by K-Alzwayed

Have him get the Note 3 now and root it, install xposed frame work then install X tether, enable it in xposed, reboot, and tether away.

I just got a warning letter from AT&T last month about unauthorized tethering. Seems like they have a way to tell? I wasn't being that much of a data hog.
3rd September 2014, 07:03 AM   |  #4  
K-alz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, Ohio... Southeast Oklahoma originally
Thanks Meter: 2,768
 
4,025 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by badler6545

I just got a warning letter from AT&T last month about unauthorized tethering. Seems like they have a way to tell? I wasn't being that much of a data hog.

Did you use the X tether module and they were able to tell?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes