Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Runtime Selection Absent

24th August 2014, 07:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Did anyone else notice the fact that the kitkat update has no option to select runtime? (JIT or ART)
Or is it just me?
24th August 2014, 09:18 AM   |  #2  
Souron29's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bbsr
Thanks Meter: 115
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Art was an experimental feature in kitkat so Samsung didn't include it. We use JIT now..
24th August 2014, 09:48 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Souron29

Art was an experimental feature in kitkat so Samsung didn't include it. We use JIT now..

ART is made default in L. So, its gotta be good.
24th August 2014, 01:40 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Will we get the L update?

Sent from my SM-N750 using XDA Free mobile app
24th August 2014, 02:41 PM   |  #5  
Souron29's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bbsr
Thanks Meter: 115
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxzeroedge

ART is made default in L. So, its gotta be good.

It had some bugs in kitkat and yes it's good. It's a compiler which compiles the whole app beforehand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Eye

Will we get the L update?

Sent from my SM-N750 using XDA Free mobile app

Don't even dream about it 😂
24th August 2014, 03:00 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Souron29



Don't even dream about it 😂

I wish the Neo has CM support atleast. Loved CM 11 on my Motorola Razr Maxx, miss it now

Sent from my SM-N750 using XDA Free mobile app
24th August 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,027
 
2,595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
ART is experimental feature on Kitkat and Samsung has disabled this by design on its firmware.
26th August 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakeshishere

ART is experimental feature on Kitkat and Samsung has disabled this by design on its firmware.

Not really. Samsung is still rolling out ART mode option in its S5, which is "supposed to be" as bugless as possible. Look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2713879
26th August 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,027
 
2,595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxzeroedge

Not really. Samsung is still rolling out ART mode option in its S5, which is "supposed to be" as bugless as possible. Look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2713879

I'm aware of that and probably that's only model from Samsung which has ART enabled on Kitkat
30th August 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag PETALING JAYA
Thanks Meter: 42
 
570 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakeshishere

I'm aware of that and probably that's only model from Samsung which has ART enabled on Kitkat

Note 3 has it as well.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Neo Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank