Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,360 Members 50,336 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Changing Default Dialer on Note 3

Tip us?
 
Tungsten c
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 206
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default [Q] Changing Default Dialer on Note 3

Guys

Is there a way to change the default dialer on a Sprint stock rooted Note #3 (NC5)?

When an app access the phone I always get the screen in which I select the dialer to be used and I always hit always yet next time is the same.
I have clear data from the stock dialer no luck.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
 
jimzweb1
Old
(Last edited by jimzweb1; 5th August 2014 at 02:22 AM.)
#2  
jimzweb1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 238
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tungsten c View Post
Guys

Is there a way to change the default dialer on a Sprint stock rooted Note #3 (NC5)?

When an app access the phone I always get the screen in which I select the dialer to be used and I always hit always yet next time is the same.
I have clear data from the stock dialer no luck.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Yes go to this link http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2283828 download the free TBOupdater.apk once it is in the phone you can open it there are all kinds of apps some are blacked out some are transparent. There is a blacked out dialer in there you can install on NC5.

If you can't find the app at the link above here is my link https://mega.co.nz/#!cdowBaYQ!Qvnalt...WdSP4aVodfn_5Q just copy this to sd card then click on it and install on your device then just scroll down till you find the dialer and install. The Blackout update app will automatically update it self when you open it.
The Following User Says Thank You to jimzweb1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Tungsten c
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 206
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimzweb1 View Post
Yes go to this link http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2283828 download the free TBOupdater.apk once it is in the phone you can open it there are all kinds of apps some are blacked out some are transparent. There is a blacked out dialer in there you can install on NC5.

If you can't find the app at the link above here is my link https://mega.co.nz/#!cdowBaYQ!Qvnalt...WdSP4aVodfn_5Q just copy this to sd card then click on it and install on your device then just scroll down till you find the dialer and install. The Blackout update app will automatically update it self when you open it.
Thank you
 
jimzweb1
Old
#4  
jimzweb1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 238
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tungsten c View Post
Thank you
Your welcome, in case you are having trouble finding it I know I did. Open the app, click on Available Apps, Recently Updated Apps, scroll down to Dual Themed Call App. Download the zip file copy and paste to sdcard, and flash in recovery. Enjoy!!!
 
Tungsten c
Old
(Last edited by Tungsten c; 6th August 2014 at 12:26 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 206
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimzweb1 View Post
Your welcome, in case you are having trouble finding it I know I did. Open the app, click on Available Apps, Recently Updated Apps, scroll down to Dual Themed Call App. Download the zip file copy and paste to sdcard, and flash in recovery. Enjoy!!!
thanks, hey what will be the best way to be able to go back in case i don't like the Dual Themed Call App . TWRP?
The Following User Says Thank You to Tungsten c For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jimzweb1
Old
(Last edited by jimzweb1; 6th August 2014 at 02:20 PM.)
#6  
jimzweb1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 238
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tungsten c View Post
thanks, hey what will be the best way to be able to go back in case i don't like the Dual Themed Call App . TWRP?
First I would make a backup of the rom as close to the way you like it as possible with what ever recovery you are using. Then store it on an ext sdcard or PC. Then you can just do a recovery restore when you want to change back. Mine is on a 32GB ext sdcard, which it seems like a I do a system restore via recovery backup once a day because of all the new things I try to flash. OR use a root explorer type file manager copy and paste the original dialer .apk to an internal or external sdcard. Then you can delete the new one, copy and paste the original back. Be sure to check permissions, they need to be reset to original settings, then power down the device, and when it reboots it will run the original dialer.
 
Tungsten c
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 206
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimzweb1 View Post
First I would make a backup of the rom as close to the way you like it as possible with what ever recovery you are using. Then store it on an ext sdcard or PC. Then you can just do a recovery restore when you want to change back. Mine is on a 32GB ext sdcard, which it seems like a I do a system restore via recovery backup once a day because of all the new things I try to flash. OR use a root explorer type file manager copy and paste the original dialer .apk to an internal or external sdcard. Then you can delete the new one, copy and paste the original back. Be sure to check permissions, they need to be reset to original settings, then power down the device, and when it reboots it will run the original dialer.
Thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more